1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Yasmin Patell recognized as Professor of the Week

K-State Today

November 29, 2023

Yasmin Patell recognized as Professor of the Week

Submitted by Candace LaBerge

Professor of the Week

Yasmin Patell, teaching professor of chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences, was recognized as Professor of the Week at the Nov. 28 men's home basketball game.

Faculty Senate, the Office of the President, K-State Athletics and the Division of Communications and Marketing wish to recognize her contributions to K-State.

Patell joined K-State in 2000, when she was appointed as an instructor in the chemistry department. In 2004, she was named assistant teaching scholar, and she was promoted to the rank of teaching professor in 2016.

Patell has served as a popular lecturer in the Chemistry I/Chemistry II sequence of courses. She also leads the instruction of the Chemistry I/Chemistry II recitation courses. Through her instructional activities, she has an impact on the undergraduate education of well over 1,000 K-State students every year. Patell is known for her highly organized lectures that have been carefully optimized to help her students learn the unique concepts covered in first-year chemistry courses. 

She serves as a mentor in the American Council on Education ACUE Course in Effective Teaching Practices at K-State. At the national level, Patell has been a member of the ACS Division of Chemical Education Examinations Institute, from 2003-2017, including one year as the chair of the 2017 ACS full-term General Chemistry Exam Committee.

Patell is the recipient of many awards, including the William L. Stamey Teaching Award in 2003, the Presidential Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in 2006, the Women in Engineering and Science Making a Difference Award in 2007, the E. Ann Nalley Midwest Regional Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society in 2009, the Commerce Bank Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in 2011, the Promoting an Accessible Campus Award in 2013 and Professor of the Week in 2016.