1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »'SpringDance' steps into McCain Auditorium April 5-6

K-State Today

April 2, 2013

'SpringDance' steps into McCain Auditorium April 5-6

Submitted by Communications and Marketing

Kansas State University's "SpringDance 2013" will be a celebration of the university's dance program. It will be presented at 7:30 p.m. April 5-6 in McCain Auditorium.

"SpringDance" will feature several vignettes from the dance program's history and new works, including an energetic war dance from Ghana performed by the African Ensemble. Works by faculty choreographers include new and restaged movement theatre by David Ollington, associate professor of dance; new and restaged ballet works by Laura Donnelly, assistant professor of dance; new tap work by Julie Pentz, associate professor and head of the dance program; and new and inspiring work by guest artist/choreographer Andrea Skowronek. Student choreography also will be featured.

Tickets cost $8-$14, plus applicable taxes and fees, and can be purchased at the McCain Auditorium box office, by calling 785-532-6428 or online.

The dance program is part of the university's School of Music, Theatre, and Dance.

Students participating in "SpringDance 2013" include:

Rachel Arbuckle, sophomore in theatre, Andover; Taylor Stackley, junior in chemistry, Baldwin City; Lindsey Hoctor, junior in psychology, Benton; Allison Penner, senior in microbiology, Clay Center; Jordan Roberts, junior in arts and sciences-open option, Coffeyville; Alexis LeMay, freshman in biology, Council Grove; Danielle Jones, junior in applied music, Dodge City; Emily Warriner, junior in agribusiness, Effingham; Kaitlin Downing, senior in English, and Kaitlyn Long, freshman in animal science and industry, Fort Leavenworth.

From Greater Kansas City: Sophie Elliott, freshman in theatre, and Gillian Long, sophomore in biochemistry, both from Leawood; Caitlyn Vohs, senior in civil engineering, Lenexa; Lauren Laudan, sophomore in elementary education, Mission Hills; Mica Bengston, senior in theatre, Amy Burns, senior in elementary education, Carolyn Gardner, sophomore in French, and Kathleen Hail, freshman in pre-professional elementary education, all from Olathe; Paige Heinze, sophomore in theatre, Sarah Megee, junior in mass communications, and Emma Wilson, sophomore in interior design, all from Overland Park; Cassidy Murphy, junior in education in mathematics, and Jamie Teixeria, sophomore in English, both from Shawnee; and Madison Sha, sophomore in communication sciences and disorders, Stilwell.

Hope Goertzen, sophomore in theatre, and Aubrey Nickell, senior in communication sciences and disorders, both from Hesston; Emily French, sophomore in family studies and human services, Highland.

From Hutchinson: Katie Kimmel, sophomore in bakery science and management; Sarah Truman, sophomore in biology; and Molly Wichman, senior in kinesiology.

Blair Diel, senior in social work, Kiowa; Eryka Stabel, senior in theatre, Lakin; Jackie Soelter, freshman in chemical engineering, Lawrence; Raaven Crockett, senior in theatre, Leavenworth; Kimmi Stephens, freshman in theatre, Louisburg.

From Manhattan: Siera Lungren, senior in family studies and human services; Jordan McGuinn, junior in fisheries, wildlife and conservation biology; Sara Morgan, senior in theatre; Sarah Mortenson, freshman in arts and sciences-open option; Meredith Olds, junior in theatre; Bethany Parker, senior in theatre; Randy Rhoten, sophomore in theatre; Laura Vallejo, senior in theatre; Eden Williams, senior in psychology; Christopher Zimmerman, senior in music education; and Alex Zolnerowich, sophomore in theatre.

Andrea Fouts, senior in marketing, and McKayla Peelen, freshman in business administration, both from Ottawa; Shelby Unruh, senior in music education, Peabody; Hollyn Smith, senior in social sciences, and Karissa Spohn, senior in theatre, both from Salina; Emily Barnhill, sophomore in theatre, Spring Hill.

From Topeka: Ursula Hagstrand, freshman in fine arts; Sydney Ho, sophomore in pre-professional secondary education; Chelsea Pitts, senior in interior design; Maggie Thompson, junior in life sciences; and Morgan Velez, junior in interior design.

Sarah Potter, sophomore in pre-professional elementary education, Winfield.

From out of state:

Michelle Page, junior in geology, Downey, Calif.; Shelly Heinz, master's student in counseling and student development, San Diego, Calif.; Mark Hay, sophomore in arts and sciences open option, Thousand Oaks, Calif.; Abigail Owen, sophomore in nutrition and kinesiology, Durango, Colo.; Gina Migliore, junior in family studies and human services, Barrington, Ill.; Lucille Sadlon, sophomore in environmental design, Cicero, Ill.; Anna Groppoli, senior in architecture, Stillwater, Minn.; Taylor Mann, freshman in biology, Joplin, Mo.; Carolyn Fitzgibbons, junior in theatre, Nixa, Mo.; Daniel Phillips, junior in mechanical engineering, Papillion, Neb.; Tyler Nenaber, senior in nutrition and health, Huron, S.D.; Jessica Thomson, junior in animal sciences and industry, Allen, Texas; and Jesse Milholm, junior in animal sciences and industry, Katy, Texas.