1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Architecture students win scholarships in ninth annual MANKO Design Competition...

K-State Today

December 8, 2020

Architecture students win scholarships in ninth annual MANKO Design Competition

Submitted by Megan Elzinga

Winning project by Justin Grim

Two architecture students in the Master of Architecture program in the College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign, received scholarships in the ninth annual design competition sponsored by MANKO Window Systems, hosted virtually on Dec. 4.

Justin Grim, a fourth-year architecture student, Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, is receiving a $5,000 scholarship as competition winner for his project "Sybiosis, Genesis Center and Abiotic Development and Application" from associate professor Genevieve Baudoin's studio. The design was an assignment in his fourth-year comprehensive studio class, requiring students to integrate conceptual and technical knowledge into a highly resolved building proposal.

Riley Griggs, a fourth-year architecture student, Clay Center, is receiving a $2,000 runner-up scholarship for his mid-rise mixed-use project in Austin, Texas for assistant professor, Grant Alford's studio.

Following a review, one student from each of the department's five fourth-year studios was selected to compete for the MANKO awards, with each developing a narrative slide presentation to present to jurors, who were all established practitioners in the field.

The competition jury included Charles Di Piazza, lecturer, University of Texas architect and founder, Charles Di Piazza Architecture, Austin, Texas; Malcolm Watkins, architect and vice president, SJCF Architecture, Wichita; Kristina Yu, associate professor and associate dean, University of New Mexico Architect and principal, McClain + Yu, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The following architecture students also were selected for the MANKO Design Competition:

Beau Constant, Stilwell, representing the studio of Cameron Tross, visiting assistant professor of architecture; Somnath Mukherjee, India, representing the BNIM studio; and Salim Akli, Algeria, and Justin Cresswell, Bristow, Virginia, representing the summer studio of Grant Alford, assistant professor.