1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Requesting volunteers for presidential Employee Suggestion Committee

K-State Today

November 30, 2020

Requesting volunteers for presidential Employee Suggestion Committee

Submitted by Faculty Senate and University Support Staff Senate

Dear Colleagues,

Following a proposal from Faculty Senate and University Support Staff Senate, a new presidential committee has been established: the Employee Suggestion Committee. This committee will help to revitalize the Employee Suggestion Program, a state-run program for classified employees that was discontinued in 2014.

Once established, the Employee Suggestion Committee will develop the protocols for university faculty and staff to contribute ideas that will increase efficiencies, reduce costs, and/or improve productivity or job satisfaction, including policy and application and evaluation procedures.

The assistant vice president for operational strategy, Mandy Cole, will chair this committee. USS Senate will nominate three university support staff employees and Faculty Senate will nominate three unclassified professional staff and/or faculty members. Additionally, a representative from the Office of the Provost and from Human Capital Services will serve on the committee. Members will serve in two-year rotating terms.

We are seeking volunteers for this committee, including university support staff, and professional staff and faculty. University Support Staff Senate and Faculty Senate will recommend appointments to the Office of the Vice President for University Operations, with the final selection being made by those who oversee this committee.

If you have an interest in serving on this committee, please provide your name and contact information on the Committee Interest Form. We appreciate hearing from you by Friday, Dec. 11. Thank you for considering this important component of shared governance.


Mary Oborny, USS Senate President, and Mindy Markham, Faculty Senate President