1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »College of Agriculture January 2013 Updates

K-State Today

January 29, 2013

College of Agriculture January 2013 Updates

Submitted by Debra Webb

Professor Michael Dikeman, delivered his last lecture on Dec. 7, 2012, completing 84 semesters of service to the department of animal sciences and industry. He taught 13 different courses, ranging from introductory animal science to graduate courses in meat science, and coached the K-State Meat Judging Team for eight years. He will be honored at a Feb. 2 reception at the K-State Alumni Center. Dikeman and Scott Schaake, associate professor and livestock judging team coach, have been named College of Agriculture Faculty of the Semester for fall 2012.

Lucas Shivers, a 2003 bachelor's degree graduate in agricultural communications and journalism/elementary education, earned the 2012 Janet Sims Memorial Teacher of the Year Award sponsored by High Plains Journal. Shivers teaches grades forth through sixth at Bluejacket Flint Elementary School in Shawnee. He spoke at the annual meeting of the Kansas Foundation for Agriculture in the Classroom.

Food science students Clinton Kyle, John Kuffler, Gordon Harton and Alex Thompson created a carbonated yogurt smoothie called Yo-Fizz. The beverage — low in fat and a good source of protein, calcium, and vitamin A — earned finalist rankings in the 2012 Dairy Research Institute New Product Competition. Professor Fadi Aramouni is adviser.

Food science students Josh Sinning and Krista McKay placed second in the DuPont Knowledge Award product development competition. Their entry, Sweet Potato and Carrot Crisps, combines sweet potatoes, carrots and whole wheat into a cracker-like snack with a barbecue flavor. They won $5,000 and a trip to the Prepared Foods New Products Conference in Palm Beach, Fla. Associate professor Kelly Getty is their adviser.

Seven K-State students earned scholarships during the annual Kansas Livestock Association meeting. Veterinary medicine students Michelle Colgan (B.S. ’09 food science) and Kelsey Schnoebelen (B.S. ’11 animal science), each received a $1,500 Ralgro Wheels for Bucks Scholarship. Trenton Blythe, freshman in wildlife and outdoor enterprise management, and Taylor Harms, sophomore in agricultural communications and journalism, earned $1,000 Wheels for Bucks scholarships. Carl Clawson, freshman in agribusiness, received the $1,000 Old District 4 Scholarship. The $1,000 Glenn and Clyde Lindstrom Scholarship was awarded to Tanner Rayl, junior in food science and industry. Garrett Kays, freshman in agribusiness, received a $1,000 Youth in Agriculture Scholarship.

Jocelyn Clemons, senior in agricultural technology management, was crowned Miss Black and Gold on Dec. 3, 2012. The Kappa Tau chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity hosts the annual scholarship pageant. Clemons is a 2009 Multicultural Academic Program Success, or MAPS, participant, Cargill Scholar, former president of Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Related Sciences or MANRRS, treasurer for the K-State Robotics Team, former American Royal Scholar, and the first minority to serve on the national Agriculture Future of America Student Advisory Board.

Cargill recently renewed its support of the Cargill Project Impact Diversity partnership with a gift of $1.2 million. Through this program, K-State works to recruit and retain qualified multicultural students in its colleges of agriculture, business administration, and engineering. Cargill contributed $1 million to introduce the program in 2008. Since then, significant progress has included a 68 percent increase in multicultural student enrollment in the target disciplines and an 87 percent overall first-to-second-year retention rate for the Cargill Project Impact scholars. This compares with a 70 percent rate for all multicultural students and exceeds K-State’s comprehensive student retention rate by four percentage points.

Bachelor’s degree candidates Nicole Woods, agricultural communications and journalism, sang the national anthem; Robin Kleine, agricultural communications and journalism, spoke; and Garrett Lister, agricultural economics, gave the student address at the College of Agriculture fall commencement Dec. 8, 2012.