1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Housing and Dining Services honors outstanding residents, staff

K-State Today

May 8, 2015

Housing and Dining Services honors outstanding residents, staff

Submitted by Alison Rogers

The Department of Housing and Dining Services recently hosted two end-of-year events to honor residents and student staff members who contributed exceptional service in the area of residence life.

The National Residence Hall Honorary Leadership Reception on April 21 recognized Susi Tunstall Creating Family Award recipients, Mabel Strong Scholarship recipients and the department's advisor of the year.

Jerusha Matthews and Dorian Jester were recipients of the Susi Tunstall Creating Family Award. Both students played an active community development role within Jardine Apartments. This $500 award was created to provide financial assistance to a student who, in Susi's words, "helps to make Jardine feel like family."

Lauren D'Amato, Riley Mickelsen and Lara Hoss were recipients of the 2015 Mabel Strong Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded each year to outstanding residence hall students in honor of Strong, who helped establish the Kansas State University Association of Residence Halls and was influential in the halls' success from 1964 to 1978. This year, three $500 awards were given.

To be eligible for this scholarship, the student must currently live in the residence halls and plan to return to either the halls or the living community at Jardine next year. Involvement through the Hall Governing Board, Association of Residence Halls or National Residence Hall Honorary, as well as leadership ability and academic achievement, are taken into consideration when selecting recipients.

The department also recognized Glenn Spurlin III, apartment living coordinator, on his selection as advisor of the year.

The Student Staff Banquet on April 27 recognized recipients of the Community Builder Award, Unsung Hero Award and Outstanding Service Awards.

Community Builder awardees are Susannah Headrick, Olivia Pierce, Ana Vandermark, Brianna Rodgers, Makenzie Greeley, Luke Porteous, Emily Gliserman, Skyler Stevens, Karis Dolenz, Anna Ladd, Joel Findley, Erebecca Berhanemeskel, Callie Farrell and Jordan Sutton.

Unsung Hero awardee are Carlos Morales, Taylor Archuleta, Bernadette Drouhard, Amanda Schwabauer, Paige Buss, Nina Hollingsworth, Hannah Martin, Chisholm Miller, Maggie Mosley, Andre Carthen, Jade Mauze, Kandace Irvin and Jerusha Matthews.

Outstanding Service awardees are Krystal Duer, Hailee Zatar, Kilee Nolen, Chelsea Murry, Luke Myers, Josh Knapp, Lauren Whiteside, Felicia Walker, Cassidy LaMair, Kaitlyn Burton, Xavier Capalla and Kelsey Nolting.