1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Physics department announces recipients of graduate student teaching, research awards

K-State Today

April 11, 2014

Physics department announces recipients of graduate student teaching, research awards

Submitted by Kim Coy

The physics department has announced winners of its annual awards for graduate students excelling in the department's teaching and research programs for 2013-14.

Pablo Guimera Coll will receive the award for Outstanding Teaching by a First or Second Year Graduate Student. According to his faculty evaluator, "Pablo has been a very effective and popular teaching assistant in The Physical World. His students really respond well to him and the enthusiasm and curiosity that he exudes is infectious. Pablo is an excellent ambassador for the physics department."

Jessica Changstrom is the recipient of Outstanding Service in Teaching by a Graduate Student. Her faculty evaluator indicates, "She quickly picks up what we are trying to accomplish and then interacts very effectively with the students on a personal basis to get it accomplished. She reads the studio write-ups and suggests useful changes. The students like her and respect her. I can't ask for more."

Mohammad Zohrabi will be awarded Outstanding Graduate Student Researcher. Mohammad's faculty evaluator says, "By just about any measure, Mohammad Zohrabi's research productivity during his graduate career — as reflected in his publications and contributed presentations — is outstanding. Moreover, his work has appeared in quite high-profile journals and received other attention as notable with various editor's selections. Mohammad sets a great example for our other students and is very deserving of this award."

Mohammad will present a poster on his research Thursday, May 8, in the department.

All three awardees will be recognized at the department's scholarship luncheon at noon Friday, May 9, which will feature alumni Roger Lanksbury, dual major in physics and nuclear engineering, 1974, as the luncheon speaker.