1. K-State home
  2. »Phi Kappa Phi
  3. »awards-etc.
  4. »Scholar Award
  5. »Greg Eiselein

Phi Kappa Phi

Greg Eiselein

Chapter Scholar Award, presented April 22, 2015

    Gregory Eiselein with Mary Beth Kirkham

Gregory Eiselein with Mary Beth Kirkham

Phi Kappa Phi is honored to
present its 2015 Scholar Award
to Dr. Gregory J. Eiselein.  He is a professor in the Department of English and received the B.A. degree from the University of Idaho and Ph.D. from the University of Iowa.

Since 2010, Dr. Eiselein has been Director of K-State First, which is the University’s first-year experience program.  It helps students establish a good foundation for the rest of their college careers and offers first-year seminar courses designed for first-year students only.  K-State First is home for the University’s common reading program and a one-on-one mentoring program that connects new students with other members of the K-State community. K-State First is committed to academic excellence, community, diversity, and the empowerment of students.

Dr. Eiselein has published extensively on 19th century American literature, cultural studies, children’s literature, and poetry.  His list of publications includes two books that he has edited dealing with Louisa May Alcott.  Since coming to KSU in 1993, he has taught an amazing 30 different courses in the Department of English ranging from English 100, Expository Writing, to English 830, a seminar entitled The Family in American Culture. 

Dr. Eiselein's exemplary teaching ability has been recognized by his being named the 2008 Coffman University Distinguished Teaching Scholar.   In addition to being a Distinguished Teaching Scholar, he has won many other awards, including being named in 2013 the Professor of the Year for Kansas by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education or CASE and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.  The CASE/Carnegie Awards Program honors our nation’s best undergraduate teachers—those who excel as educators and influence the lives and careers of their students.  It is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring.

The Scholar Award criteria:

  1. Quality of accomplishments in
    the nominee's field of study.
  2. Achievements of regional,
    national and/or international
    scope (publications, research,
    invited lectures, etc.).
  3. Honors and other forms of
    recognition for excellence in
    scholarly work.