1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Kansas State University's sophomore leadership honorary selects members for 2016-2017

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Silver Key sophomore honorary selects members for 2016-2017

Wednesday, March 16, 2016


MANHATTAN — Silver Key, the sophomore leadership honorary at Kansas State University, has selected its new members for the 2016-2017 school year.

To be eligible for Silver Key, students must have at least a 3.0 grade point average, be high school graduates from 2015, and be in their freshman year at the university. Silver Key provides service to the campus and the surrounding Manhattan community. Members organize and participate in a variety of community service projects each semester. Past projects have included Sleep Out for the Homeless, food packing event, and outreach to children and seniors. The organization has also sponsored a highway cleanup and a Boys and Girls Club trip to a Kansas State University men's basketball game.

"This is a premier K-State honorary, with bright students with a heart for service. It is my honor to work alongside these students,” said Carla Jones, advisor, assistant vice president of student life, and senior associate dean of student life. Joining this year as co-advisors are Kathryn Harth from the Great Plains IDEA program, and Sarah Frese from Housing and Dining Services.

The following students, who will all be sophomores, are new members of Silver Key for the 2016-2017 school year:

Mackenzie Penny, chemistry, pre-medicine and English, Andover; Shane Torrey, finance and pre-law, Axtell; Kennedy Bowers, computer science and math; Basehor; Kathryn Schieferecke, social work, Bennington; Bailey Peterson, agricultural education, Buhler; Malorie Wagner, English, Burlington; Kyler Langvardt, agricultural communications and journalism, Chapman; Nathaniel Trapp, industrial engineering and premedicine, Ellsworth.

From Greater Kansas City: Jackson Wright, English, Leawood; Brianna Hughey, family studies and human services, Lenexa; Jordan Eberhardy, kinesiology, and Brianna Woicke, marketing, both from Olathe; Ann McLean, biochemistry and pre-optometry, Overland Park; Nathaniel Cameron, English and pre-medicine, Rachel Haskell, kinesiology, Matthew Horner, chemical engineering, and Jordan Kiehl, industrial engineering, all from Prairie Village; and Christian Foster, psychology and pre-med, Roeland Park.

Kelli Veach, communication sciences and disorders, and gerontology, Hays; Dean Klahr, food science, and Karl Wilhelm, agricultural business, both from Holton; Jerica Hall, animal science, Independence; Siera Haug, chemistry and pre-medicine, Manhattan; Lane Nichols, agricultural economics, Minneapolis; Regent Erickson, mechanical engineering, Oberlin; Taylor Beashore, biology and pre-medicine, Piper; Sarah Plum, bio chemistry, Sabetha; Zoe Woolsoncroft, agricultural business, Salina; Macy Burke, nutrition and health, Spring Hill; Regan Albertini, communication sciences and disorders, St. Paul.

From Wichita: Shelby Carpenter, elementary education; Zachary Donley, biology and pre-medicine; Kristen Graves, architectural engineering; and Addison Mcgill, communication sciences and disorders.

From out of state:

Makaylee Young-Mills, architectural engineering, Kansas City, Missouri; Megan Mueting, elementary education, Lincoln, Nebraska; Aspen Weber, business marketing, Edmond, Oklahoma; Claudia Hissong, agricultural economics, Greencastle, Pennsylvania; Christine Odom, baking science management and milling science management, Memphis, Tennessee; and Taylor Nigg, kinesiology and nutrition, Missouri City, Texas.


Carla Jones


Silver Key

News tip

Andover, Axtell, Basehor, Bennington, Buhler, Burlington, Chapman, Ellsworth, Hays, Holton, Independence, Leawood, Lenexa, Manhattan, Minneapolis, Oberlin, Olathe, Overland Park, Piper, Prairie Village, Roeland Park, Sabetha, Salina, Spring Hill, St. Paul, and Wichita, Kansas; Kansas City, Missouri; Lincoln, Nebraska; Edmond, Oklahoma; Greencastle, Pennsylvania; Memphis, Tennessee; and Missouri City, Texas.

Written by

Malorie Wagner

At a glance

Kansas State University's chapter of Silver Key, the sophomore honorary, has selected members for the 2016-2017 school year.