1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »2015
  6. »Six high school seniors earn Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Six high school seniors earn Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship

Monday, March 16, 2015

Edgerley-Franklin winners

Recipients and finalists for Kansas State University's Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship are, front row from left: Kenneth Santiago, Antonio Carter, Tyus Heinrich, Chelsea Turner, Ana Simental and Mia Taylor; and back row, from left: Steve Edgerley, Anahi Arce-Gross, Susan Edgerley, Bernard Franklin, Rafael Garcia and Marcos Aleman. | Download the following photo.


MANHATTAN — Kansas State University has awarded its Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship to six high school seniors for outstanding contributions to the urban communities in which they live.

The university received 102 applications, and a selection committee chose 10 finalists to interview. Finalists participated in an on-campus interview and recognition day on March 9. Of those interviewed, six students were chosen to receive the $3,000 scholarship. Scholarships are renewable for up to three years with a 3.0 Kansas State University GPA.

This scholarship is made possible by the Edgerley and Franklin families, who continuously demonstrate leadership and support of service to individuals from urban areas. It was created in memory of Bernard Franklin’s wife, Elsia, who was committed to helping better the lives of young girls in urban Alabama. Franklin is special assistant to Kansas State University vice president for student life.

The Edgerleys have been longtime supporters of the university, contributing to a number of scholarships, funds and faculty chairs in the past 10 years, including the Paul B. and Sandra M. Edgerley Business Administration Scholarship; the Paul B. Edgerley Chair in Business Administration; the Robert M. Edgerley Chair in International Business, in honor of Paul Edgerley's father; the Edgerley Family Chair in the College of Business Administration; and the President Wefald Leadership Chair in the College of Business Administration.

The following high school seniors are recipients or finalists for the Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship:

Rafael Garcia, Emporia, Emporia High School, scholarship recipient.

From Greater Kansas City: Marcos Aleman, Gardner, Gardner Edgerton High School, scholarship recipient; Ana Simental, Kansas City, J.C. Harmon High School, scholarship recipient; and Chelsea Turner, Mission, Shawnee Mission North High School, scholarship recipient.

Antonio Carter, Junction City, Junction City High School, scholarship finalist; Kenneth Santiago, Maize, Wichita South High School, scholarship finalist; Tyus Heinrich, Spring Hill, Spring Hill High School, scholarship finalist; and Anahi Arce-Gross, Wichita Northwest High School, scholarship recipient, and Mia Taylor, Maize High School, scholarship recipient, both from Wichita.

From out of state: Marco Machado, St. Joseph, Missouri, Central High School, scholarship finalist.


Kiley Moody

Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship

News tip

Emporia, Gardner, Junction City, Kansas City, Maize, Mission, Spring Hill and Wichita, Kansas; and St. Joseph, Missouri

At a glance

High school seniors from Emporia, Gardner, Kansas City, Mission and Wichita are recipients of the 2015-2016 Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship from Kansas State University.