1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Lists of graduates, honors, scholarships
  6. »Scholarship recipients
  7. »2012-2013

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

Note to editor:   This list includes only the names of students who have received scholarships that total $1,000 or more. Kansas recipients are listed by county and hometown.
Website: http://www.k-state.edu/sfa
News release prepared by: Stephanie Jacques, 785-532-3452, sjacques@k-state.edu

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012

Giving the gift of education: Students receive $19.2 million in scholarships from university donations

MANHATTAN -- More than 9,400 academic scholarships have been awarded to Kansas State University students for the 2012-2013 school year. Overall, students have earned more than $19.2 million in scholarships for the current academic year -- nearly $1 million more than the previous year.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation. Information on the university's student financial assistance is available at http://www.k-state.edu/sfa.

Students receiving scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:


Burlington: Erin Poppe, Milton S. Eisenhower, Jr. Scholarship in the A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications, and the Achievement Award

Everett: Samantha Wai, Activity Scholarship

Freeland: Levi MaVorhis, Transfer Purple and White Scholarship

Pullman: Paige Druffel, Rod Turnbull Scholarship Fund, Fred and Cathy Cholick International Agriculture Scholarship, and Russell E. Serles Scholarship; Patrice Lyon, WOW Leadership Award

Puyallup: Zachary Hendrix, Transfer Leadership Scholarship

Renton: Taylor Rice, Memorial Scholarship

Seattle: Kristina Cale, Multicultural Education Scholarship

Spokane: Morgan Stafford, Fairchild Scholarship

Vancouver: Olivia Beam, Memorial Scholarship

West Virginia

Morgantown: Erika Mastalerz, Miscellaneous Scholarship


Alma Center: Kyle Anibas, Salina Housing Scholarship

Beloit: John Neeck, the Achievement Award and the Agricultural Enhancement Fund

Cottage Grove: Lauren Sweno, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship

Edgar: Tammy Sonnentag, Dean's Choice Scholarship and Psychology Graduate Teaching Assistant Support Fund

Gratiot: Anna Monson, Memorial Scholarship

Harshaw: Lauren Karle, Angelo C. Garzio Scholarship for Studio Pottery and Salina Flight Scholarship

Janesville: Erika Anderson, SGA Leadership Scholarship

Madison: Mallory Woods, Achievement Award

Menasha: Tawanh Maphixat, Transfer Achievement Award

New Berlin: Julie McVey, Student Opportunity Awards-K-State Proud

Salem: Chelsey Glatz, Denison Scholarship

South Milwaukee: Melanie Lachecki, Ice Family Student Emergency Fund


Jackson: Ethan Moulder, Activity Scholarship

Lander: Jared Oldham, Heritage Award, Gaylord Munson Memorial Scholarship and Frank A. Hagans Memorial Scholarship

Powell: Alyssa Smith, Neva E. Babcock Scholarship and Foundation Scholarship

Worland: Samantha Compton, Architecture and Design Scholarship Fund