1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Lists of graduates, honors, scholarships
  6. »Scholarship recipients
  7. »2012-2013

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

Note to editor:   This list includes only the names of students who have received scholarships that total $1,000 or more. Kansas recipients are listed by county and hometown.
Website: http://www.k-state.edu/sfa
News release prepared by: Stephanie Jacques, 785-532-3452, sjacques@k-state.edu

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012

Giving the gift of education: Students receive $19.2 million in scholarships from university donations

MANHATTAN -- More than 9,400 academic scholarships have been awarded to Kansas State University students for the 2012-2013 school year. Overall, students have earned more than $19.2 million in scholarships for the current academic year -- nearly $1 million more than the previous year.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation. Information on the university's student financial assistance is available at http://www.k-state.edu/sfa.

Students receiving scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:


Burlingame: Grant Ferrel, Engineering Scholarships Fund, and Brent and Bonnie Heidebrecht Engineering Scholarship; Jodi Roberts, Cargill/Horizon Milling Diversity Scholarship, Housing Leadership Award, Memorial Scholarship, and Soaring with Eagles Scholarship

Carbondale: Joseph Burgett, Engineering Scholarships Fund, Alan and Sharon Sylvester Civil Engineering Scholarship, Carl R. Ice Dean's Excellence Fund, and Red Web Sproul Memorial Scholarship; Mikayla Henderson, Transfer Achievement Award; Justin Wiezorek, Edwin F. and Eunice F. Wambsganss Construction Science Scholars; Alexander Wu, Archie M. Bunten Memorial Scholarship, Memorial Scholarship, and Warren and Mary Lynn Staley Engineering Excellence Scholarship

Lyndon: Dominic Crook, Activity Scholarship; Matthew Janssen, Engineering Scholarships Fund, and Kent Leslie Memorial Scholarship; Ryan Patterson, John W. Baughman II Memorial Scholarship, Borck Leadership Scholars, Dean's Choice Scholarship, and SGA Leadership Scholarship; Nickolas Walsh, Achievement Award, and Mr. and Mrs. Russell Baker Scholarship

Melvern: Brandon Litch, Thomas M. Potter Memorial Grazing Land Management Scholarship, and Hile Rannells Scholarship for Agronomy

Osage City: Emilee Burkett, Activity Scholarship, Cargill Animal Nutrition Scholarship, and Feed Management Magazine Scholarship; Matti Kuykendall, Robert Prebyl Soil and Water Conservation Society Scholarship, Smika Agronomy Scholarship, and Ernest L. and Lou R. Adams Scholarship Fund in Agriculture; Elizabeth Wilk, Gladys Lichty Memorial Scholarship, Charles W. and Lois H. Nauheim 4-H Scholarship, and Putnam Scholarship

Quenemo: Evan Woodbury, Gayle Foster Alumni Club Scholarship, K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship, Leadership Scholarship, and Fay and Ship Winter Scholarship

Scranton: Joseph Langr, Leadership Scholarship

Wakarusa: Payton Haefner, Medallion Scholarship, Salina Flight Scholarship, and Salina Housing Scholarship


Alton: Nathaniel Mick, Arthur Capper Cooperative Center

Osborne: Jamie Cockerham, Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship, and Leadership Scholarship; Ashlyn Thibault, Leadership Scholarship; Mallorie Thibault, Achievement Award


Bennington: Cody Lampe, Salina Flight Scholarship, and Salina Housing Scholarship; Addyson McCall, Achievement Award; James Monk, David A. and M. Marguerite Parker Endowed Scholarship; Sarah Stratman, Achievement Award

Culver: Jacob Crawshaw, Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship

Delphos: McKayla Brubaker, Activity Scholarship, Agricultural Enhancement Fund, James B. Hollinger Family Scholarship, K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship, and K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship Presented by Farm Bureau Financial Services and Kansas Farm Bureau; Morgan Halderson, Agronomy Memorial Scholarship; Lauren Forshee, Leslie W. Beckman and Edna L. Beckman Memorial Scholarship and Medallion Scholarship

Minneapolis: Dylan Crosson, Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship, and Charles Dean and Harriet McNeal Memorial Scholarship; Jacy Crosson, Baeten Farm Scholarship, Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship, and T. Hobart and Marion Brown McVay Scholarship; Tanner Davis, Foundation Scholarship, Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship, and June D. Hull Sherrid Cancer Center Scholarship and Education Fund; Emma Giles, Warren and Mary Lynn Staley Engineering Excellence Scholarship; Mackenzie Mortimer, Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship; Daniel Scharplaz, Fairchild Scholarship, and Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship

Solomon: Trevor Turner, Gayle Foster Alumni Club Scholarship, and Leadership Scholarship

Tescott: Angela Graves, H. Leigh Baker Scholarship, and College of Education Alumni Scholarship; Joshua Martin, Achievement Award, and Charles D. Singelton Scholarship in Grain Science and Industry