1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Lists of graduates, honors, scholarships
  6. »Scholarship recipients
  7. »2012-2013

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

Note to editor:   This list includes only the names of students who have received scholarships that total $1,000 or more. Kansas recipients are listed by county and hometown.
Website: http://www.k-state.edu/sfa
News release prepared by: Stephanie Jacques, 785-532-3452, sjacques@k-state.edu

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012

Giving the gift of education: Students receive $19.2 million in scholarships from university donations

MANHATTAN -- More than 9,400 academic scholarships have been awarded to Kansas State University students for the 2012-2013 school year. Overall, students have earned more than $19.2 million in scholarships for the current academic year -- nearly $1 million more than the previous year.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation. Information on the university's student financial assistance is available at http://www.k-state.edu/sfa.

Students receiving scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:


Baileyville: Brent Bergman, Phillip T. and Janice M. Morris Engineering Scholarship, Engineering Scholarships Fund, and A. Sidney McIntire Memorial Scholarship; Caitlin Deters, Foundation Scholarship; Jerald Hulsing, Foundation for Engineering at Kansas State University Fund; Ethan Koch, Foundation for Engineering at Kansas State University Fund, and Foundation Scholarship; Tyler Schmitz, Medallion Scholarship

Bern: Amanda Haverkamp, Activity Scholarship; Kristin Haverkamp, Activity Scholarship, and Edward Arthur Harris and Lydia Catherine McNeal Harris Scholarship; Ben Leuthold, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship; Darren Meyer, Leadership Scholarship; Keithen Meyer, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship

Centralia: Vanessa Burdiek, Achievement Award; Ginger Gudenkauf, College of Education Alumni Scholarship; Dustin Hermesch, Foundation for Engineering at Kansas State University Fund

Corning: Erika Kramer, Leadership Scholarship; Roxann Steinlage, Agricultural Enhancement Fund, and Transfer Achievement Award

Goff: Kelsey Henry, Achievement Award; Jessica Hermesch, Foundation Scholarship

Sabetha: Marcus Baumgartner, J. Adair Hodges Memorial Fellowship; Kortney Edelman, Achievement Award; Will Eisenbise, Ralph I. Lipper Scholarship; Meggie Hall, Foundation Scholarship; Benjamin Koch, Fairchild Scholarship; Lindsay McNary, Activity Scholarship, and Memorial Scholarship; Travis Snyder, Theta Xi Scholarship; Kyle Stallbaumer, Putnam Scholarship; Jessalyn Strahm, Activity Scholarship; Malerie Strahm, Art Scholarship, and Foundation Scholarship; Elsie Suhr, K-State KAMS Scholarship, K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship Presented by Farm Bureau Financial Services and Kansas Farm Bureau, Putnam Scholarship, and M. Hal and Janice J. Taylor Agriculture Scholarship; Luke Sunderland, Activity Scholarship; Derek Surdez, Theta Xi Scholarship

Seneca: Lacy Ackerman, K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship; Neil Bergman, Jerry R. and Debra J. Braden Accounting Scholarship; Gabrielle Deters, Foundation Scholarship; Logan Haug, Arts and Sciences Fund for Excellence; Erin Hermesch, Max E. and Jean Hollinger Scholarship in Journalism and Mass Communications; Lisa Holthaus, College of Education Alumni Scholarship, and Golda Donnelly Faulkner Memorial Scholarship; Rachel Holthaus, Borck Leadership Scholars; Taylor Holthaus, Barbara C. Blatz Scholarship, and Medallion Scholarship; Cody Honeyman, Foundation Scholarship; Holly Kuckelman, Foundation Scholarship; Joseph Lohmann, Leadership Scholarship; David Olberding, Fairchild Scholarship; Veronica Rottinghaus, Grace D. Brill Scholarship; Garrett Steinlage, Architecture and Design Scholarship Fund; Tanner Strathman, Yar M. Ebadi Scholarship; Joshua Sudbeck, College of Agriculture Dean's Discretionary Funding Revenue Fund, CHS University Scholarship, and Charles W. and Lois H. Nauheim Agricultural Economics Scholarship; Katrina Sudbeck, Lowell A. Burchett Scholarship, Todd A. Kintigh Memorial Scholarship, and Borck Leadership Scholars; Lucas Sudbeck, A.N. and Ethelyn Oser Scholarship, and Putnam Scholarship; Alex Wilhelm, Activity Scholarship; Eric Zinke, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship

Wetmore: Kaitlyn Bloom, Activity Scholarship, Baeten Farm Scholarship, and Huschka Family Scholarship; Cassidy Winkler, K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship, June D. Hull Sherrid Cancer Center Scholarship and Education Fund, and Arts and Sciences Fund for Excellence; Emily Winkler, Medallion Scholarship


Chanute: Alexandra Aylward, Ralph W. Crouch Scholarship; Elyse Buckley, Charles D. Singelton Scholarship in Grain Science and Industry; Allison Cooper, Bert and Beulah Toomey Memorial Scholarship; Tyler Dillow, Leadership Scholarship; Ethan Kepley, Theta Xi Scholarship; Jeana Lawrence, Memorial Scholarship; Megan Miller, Jake R. Ubel Agronomy Scholarship, and Walter E. Gilmore Memorial Scholarship in Agronomy; Joseph Morris, Bert and Beulah Toomey Memorial Scholarship; Glendolyn Neely, J.E. and Mary J. Zimmerman Scholarship, Agricultural Enhancement Fund, and Air Force Captain William L. Schultz Memorial Scholarship in Agriculture; Thomas Payne, Salina Flight Scholarship, Salina Housing Scholarship, and Salina Tuition Scholarship; KathrineAnn Quiñones, John L. and Hazel N. Berry Scholarship, and Memorial Scholarship; Mary Trimble, Bert and Beulah Toomey Memorial Scholarship; Jessica Tucker, K-State Transfer Academic Award

Erie: Matthea Hendrickson, Achievement Award

St. Paul: Jena Terlip, Mike and Becky Goss International Program/Study Abroad Scholarship

Thayer: Cortney Showalter, Mrs. Pauline Compton Scholarship, and Activity Scholarship; Brianne Smedley, Transfer Achievement Award


Bazine: Dakota Foos, Dennis and Sally von Waaden Business Scholarship

Ness City: Gage Kepple, Jackson Day Family Scholarship, Ernst and Young Accounting Fund, and Randolph A. Pohlman Scholarship; Matthew McMillen, Achievement Award, and A.W. Michael and William Michael Scholarship; Dustin Schuler, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship; Brett Seib, Engineering Scholarships Fund, Wiegers Family Electrical and Computer Engineering Scholarship, and Melvin M. and Glennis A. Carlson Family Scholarship; Kylie Stoecklein, Activity Scholarship, and K-State Alumni Association Scholarship


Almena: Ashley Constable, Activity Scholarship; Tyler Montgomery, Calvin H. Grove Scholarship, Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship, and Leadership Scholarship

Norton: Maia Carlson, Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship, and Arts and Sciences Fund for Excellence; Mariah Farber, Eric Haskins Memorial Scholarship, Medallion Scholarship, and Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship; Tonielle Fiscus, Arts and Sciences Fund for Excellence; Marcus Herman, Capitol Federal Scholarship; Logan Kelly, Arthur B. Sperry Memorial Scholarship Fund, and Chesapeake Energy Corporation Distinguished Scholars; Taylor Meder, Leadership Scholarship; Kyle Mindrup, Phebe Bissell Memorial Scholarship in Engineering; Kaylen Rossi, Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship; Bethany Roy, Dr. Richard and Marcia Petracek Wiltfong Family Scholarship, Ruth Hoeflin Home Economics Scholarship, Phebe Bissell Memorial Scholarship in Human Ecology, and Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship; KaraJo Sprigg, June D. Hull Sherrid Cancer Center Scholarship and Education Fund, and Arts and Sciences Fund for Excellence