1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Lists of graduates, honors, scholarships
  6. »Scholarship recipients
  7. »2012-2013

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

Note to editor:   This list includes only the names of students who have received scholarships that total $1,000 or more. Kansas recipients are listed by county and hometown.
Website: http://www.k-state.edu/sfa
News release prepared by: Stephanie Jacques, 785-532-3452, sjacques@k-state.edu

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012

Giving the gift of education: Students receive $19.2 million in scholarships from university donations

MANHATTAN -- More than 9,400 academic scholarships have been awarded to Kansas State University students for the 2012-2013 school year. Overall, students have earned more than $19.2 million in scholarships for the current academic year -- nearly $1 million more than the previous year.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation. Information on the university's student financial assistance is available at http://www.k-state.edu/sfa.

Students receiving scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:


Lewiston: Angela Anegon, Salina Tuition Scholarship


Algonquin: Lindsey McKee, Memorial Scholarship

Alsip: Stephanie Williamson, Medallion Scholarship

Anna: Lauren Goins, Salina Housing Scholarship, Marian W. "Dolly" Hardman Endowment, and the McCain Commemorative Scholarship

Assumption: Tamar Adcock, Ernest L. and Lou R. Adams Scholarship Fund in Agriculture, Activity Scholarship, and the LMIC-R.T., Susie J. and Joe Lewellen Scholarship

Athens: Hailey Analla, Memorial Scholarship

Aurora: Kajuan Moore, Proud to be a Wildcat Scholarship, Soaring with Eagles Scholarship, and the Opportunity Scholarship

Belleville: Kathleen Sellens, Salina Tuition Scholarship

Blandinsville: Lindsey Pollock, Agricultural Enhancement Fund, and the Harold Swartley Agronomy Scholarship

Camp Point: Dustin Huber, Virginia N. Gibson Scholarship

Campton Hills: Larisa Sica, K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship Presented by Farm Bureau Financial Services and Kansas Farm Bureau, and Agricultural Enhancement Fund

Chicago: Semaj Young, Agricultural Enhancement Fund, and the Medallion Scholarship

Clayton: Kyle Brady, Activity Scholarship

Columbia: Jennifer Hannon, Max D. Bishop Memorial Scholarship

Crystal Lake: Jill Degani, Foundation Scholarship; Kyle Phalen, Memorial Scholarship

Downers Grove: Madeline Loper, Memorial Scholarship

Evanston: Shakyra Everett, College of Agriculture Dean's Discretionary Funding Revenue Fund, Purple and White Scholarship

Geneva: Jessica Pennybacker, K-State KAMS Scholarship, and K-State Transfer Academic Award

Glen Carbon: Joshua Hurford, Achievement Award

Glen Ellyn: Gina Madonia, Honors Scholarship

Grayslake: Krayton Brox, Edwin Lee Holton Memorial Scholarship, and College of Education Alumni Scholarship; Sarah Gauger, Salina Housing Scholarship and Putnam Scholarship; Patrick Lyons, Gates Capital Management Scholarship and the Achievement Award; Laura Schorn, Purple and White Scholarship

Hinsdale: William Schneider, Medallion Scholarship; Brandon Woodle, Palmquist Architecture and Design Scholarship, Penne-Bradley Scholarship and the Anderson Family Study Abroad Scholarship

Indian Head Park: Sarah Carlson, Activity Scholarship

Jacksonville: Matthew Pennell, McCain Commemorative Scholarship

Leroy: Mary Kline, Agricultural Enhancement Fund, and the Honors Scholarship

Mahomet: Sean Wonderlich, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship

Malta: Emily Plapp, Agricultural Enhancement Fund

McLeansboro: Ashtynn Braden, John W. and Hazel M. Jenner Scholarship

Morton: Monica Disberger, H.W. Wilkison and Mary Wilkison Scholarship; James Larson, Foundation Scholarship

Mount Prospect: Thomas Lawler, Anna Tessie Agan Memorial Scholarship, Anna L. Steckelberg Memorial Scholarship in Dietetics and Nutrition and the LeVelle Wood Scholarship Fund

Murrayville: Arthur DeOrnellas, Frank A. Hagans Memorial Scholarship

New Berlin: Megan Weast, Fairchild Scholarship

Normal: Alexander Bee, Memorial Scholarship

Orland Park: Blake Cornell, Achievement Award

Oswego: Joseph Kulick, Clifford Ochampaugh Memorial Music Scholarship and the McCain Commemorative Scholarship

Prairie View: Andrew Schopen, Memorial Scholarship

Rockford: Mason Crosby, Foundation Scholarship; Piper Cushman, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship, and the Foundation Scholarship; Christine Rogers, Helen Ensign McManis Housing and Dining Scholarship in Human Ecology, and the Activity Scholarship

Springfield: Joseph Standard, Office of International Programs Scholarship

St. Charles: Matthew Hans, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship

Sycamore: Alexandra Dominguez, Fairchild Scholarship; Marcus Dominguez, Medallion Scholarship

Troy: Emily Williamson, Memorial Scholarship, June D. Hull Sherrid Cancer Center Scholarship and Education Fund, and the Alpha C. and Esther Latzke Scholarship

Vernon Hills: Martin Wilson, the Achievement Award and the Walter J. Leonard Scholarship

Waterloo: Hannah Quernheim, K-State Sports Car Club Scholarship, Catherine Hardin Tendick Scholarship, the Achievement Award and the Kile Endowed Scholarship

Willowbrook: Carly Hinni, Activity Scholarship

Yorkville: Sarah Flynn, Department of Landscape Architecture Endowed Scholarship


Batesville: Kevin Wallpe, Psychology Graduate Teaching Assistant Support Fund, and the Salina Tuition Scholarship

Frankfort: Kinzie Selke, College of Agriculture Dean's Discretionary Funding Revenue Fund, and the Transfer Achievement Award


Bussey: Rhianna Wallace, Achievement Award

Cedar Falls: Rebecca Oberrieder, Honors Scholarship

Coralville: Tanner Hedden, Timothy R. Donoghue Graduate Scholarship and the Activity Scholarship

Council Bluffs: Shawn Moore, Memorial Scholarship; Jorge Villalta, Memorial Scholarship

Creston: Candace Weeda, Dean's Choice Scholarship, and Roger and Ruth Wolfe International Study Program Award

Des Moines: Brandon McBride, Heritage Award

Ely: Jessica Smith, William and Mary E. Heaton Memorial Student Aid Fund

Fayette: Taylor Wadian, Psychology Graduate Teaching Assistant Support Fund, and the Educational Opportunity Fund

Glenwood: Samantha Hustak, Putnam Scholarship

Granger: Sara Smith, Denison Scholarship

Harlan: Breann Lehr, Memorial Scholarship

Pocahontas: Sarah Stoulil, William R. Fischer Memorial Scholarship, the Tina Dahl Lilly K-State Singers Scholarship, Peter Seitz Management Scholarship, Timothy R. Donoghue Graduate Scholarship, and Activity Scholarship

Randolph: William Damme-Longinaker, Dale A. Rodman Alpha Gamma Rho Agriculture Leadership Scholarship, and the General Academic Scholarship

Robins: Macey Sevcik, Achievement Award

Shelby: Anna Armstrong, General Academic Scholarship Fund

Sioux City: Katherine Arndt, Foundation Scholarship

Spirit Lake: Sam Cook, Belstra Milling Scholarship and the Charles D. Singelton Scholarship in Grain Science and Industry