1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Lists of graduates, honors, scholarships
  6. »Scholarship recipients
  7. »2012-2013

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

Note to editor:   This list includes only the names of students who have received scholarships that total $1,000 or more. Kansas recipients are listed by county and hometown.
Website: http://www.k-state.edu/sfa
News release prepared by: Stephanie Jacques, 785-532-3452, sjacques@k-state.edu

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012

Giving the gift of education: Students receive $19.2 million in scholarships from university donations

MANHATTAN -- More than 9,400 academic scholarships have been awarded to Kansas State University students for the 2012-2013 school year. Overall, students have earned more than $19.2 million in scholarships for the current academic year -- nearly $1 million more than the previous year.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation. Information on the university's student financial assistance is available at http://www.k-state.edu/sfa.

Students receiving scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:


Kendall: Caitlyn Horton, Leslie W. Beckman and Edna L. Beckman Memorial Scholarship, First in Class Scholarship, and Foundation Scholarship

Syracuse: Jack Howell, Achievement Award; Marisa Howell, Kay Meggers-Siemens Corporation Management Scholarship, and Gasaway Family Scholarship


Anthony: Jeffrey Cather, William S. May Scholarship for Agricultural Finance; Austin Hughes, Ernest L. and Lou R. Adams Scholarship Fund in Agriculture; Trevor Starks, Arts and Sciences Fund for Excellence

Attica: Mike Loreg, Charles W. and Lois H. Nauheim 4-H Scholarship

Harper: Cord Denton, ConocoPhillips Spirit Scholars Award Fund; Jennifer Kiser, Ernest L. and Lou R. Adams Scholarship Fund in Agriculture, and Owen and Susan Sutter Agriculture Scholarship

Hazelton: Blake Koblitz, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship


Burrton: Katie Nightingale, Palmquist Architecture and Design Scholarship, and BNIM Architects Scholarship

Halstead: Jason Grossardt, Foundation Scholarship, and Opportunity Scholarship; Andrea Gundy, Marching Pride Scholars, and Caravan Ingredients Scholarship

Hesston: Clinton Janzen, Warren and Mary Lynn Staley Engineering Excellence Scholarship, and Achievement Award; Aubrey Nickell, Neva E. Babcock Scholarship; Jeffrey Norris, Dean's Choice Scholarship

Newton: Abigail Holler, Foundation Scholarship; Jacob Jantz, College of Agriculture Dean's Discretionary Funding Revenue Fund, and Opportunity Scholarship; Trevor Kaufman, R.D. and Mary C. Andersen Scholarship, Mick and Nancy McAuliffe Civil Engineering Scholarship, and Chas Turnipseed Memorial Fund; Chrystiana Miller, Collett Family Scholarship for Rural Education, College of Education Alumni Scholarship, and Borck Leadership Scholars; Yadira Porras, Educational Opportunity Fund, Successful Engineers Minority Engineering Scholarship, First in Class Scholarship, and Memorial Scholarship; Hannah Reber, K-State Transfer Academic Award; Kendall Schmidt, Putnam Scholarship; Connor Stucky, Fairchild Scholarship, First in Class Scholarship, and A.N. and Ethelyn Oser Scholarship; John Stucky, Engineering Scholarships Fund, and Claude M. Rhoades Memorial Scholarship; Kendall Voth, Thomas G. Hobbs Memorial Scholarship, and CHS University Scholarship

Sedgwick: Brooke Grattan, Leadership Scholarship; Elli Kingsley, Transfer Achievement Award; Alexander Zerbe, Mark and Cheryl Coberly Professional Pilot Scholarship

Valley Center: Mattithyah Tillotson, Dr. H.H. King Memorial Scholarship and Lectureship, Arts and Sciences Fund for Excellence, and ACS-Hach Land-Grant University Scholarship

Walton: Brett Voth, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship


Satanta: Kendal Clawson, Gates Capital Management Scholarship, CoBank Outstanding Student Scholarship, and Todd A. Kintigh Memorial Scholarship; Shelby Hill, Charles Dean and Harriet McNeal Memorial Scholarship, Charles Fremont Crews Scholarship, and CHS University Scholarship; Eli Stalker, Bernard I. and Caroline N. Melia Scholarship in Agriculture, and T. Hobart and Marion Brown McVay Scholarship

Sublette: Eric Bustillos, Cramer Products Athletic Training Program, and Memorial Scholarship; Joseph Lower, Norman E. Palmquist Memorial Scholarship in Engineering, Engineering Scholarships Fund, and Frank A. and Barbara L. Tillman Scholarship; Anna Messerly, Business Administration Dean's Scholarship; Emily Meyer, Achievement Award, and Memorial Scholarship; Hannah Meyer, Grace D. Brill Scholarship, and Memorial Scholarship; Zachary Ricketts, Ralph and Dora Rogers Memorial Scholarship; Lainie Sjeklocha, Sanders Finance Scholarship, and Koehn/Maben Bap Leadership Scholarship; Mallory Weidner, K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship, Judith Cain Scholarship, and College of Education Alumni Scholarship


Jetmore: Lauren Goans, Activity Scholarship; Kyle Nuss, Wayne Karl Memorial Scholarship in Engineering, Purdy-McGuire, Inc Architectural Engineering Scholarship Fund, SGA Leadership Scholarship, Smith Seckman Reid Scholarship, and Tointon Family Scholarship; Lauren Shuler, Activity Scholarship, and Earl H. Regnier Memorial Scholarship