1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Lists of graduates, honors, scholarships
  6. »Scholarship recipients
  7. »2012-2013

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

Note to editor:   This list includes only the names of students who have received scholarships that total $1,000 or more. Kansas recipients are listed by county and hometown.
Website: http://www.k-state.edu/sfa
News release prepared by: Stephanie Jacques, 785-532-3452, sjacques@k-state.edu

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012

Giving the gift of education: Students receive $19.2 million in scholarships from university donations

MANHATTAN -- More than 9,400 academic scholarships have been awarded to Kansas State University students for the 2012-2013 school year. Overall, students have earned more than $19.2 million in scholarships for the current academic year -- nearly $1 million more than the previous year.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation. Information on the university's student financial assistance is available at http://www.k-state.edu/sfa.

Students receiving scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:


Lakeland: Cydnie Jones, Achievement Award

Longwood: Gary Hackett, Transfer Achievement Award

Miami: Michelle Bertran, Foundation Scholarship

Miramar: Taylor Friedfeld, College of Agriculture Dean's Discretionary Funding Revenue Fund and the Purple and White Scholarship

Orlando: Miranda Annan, Achievement Award

Palm Coast: Caitlin Byttner, Foundation Scholarship

Pensacola: Aaron Rogers, Salina Housing Scholarship

Port St. Lucie: Kaitlyn Nichols, Opportunity Scholarship

Sanford: Simon Loose, McVay Scholarship and the Memorial Scholarship

Satellite Beach: Kristen Petry, Leadership Scholarship

Tallahassee: Robert Scharmann, Arts and Sciences Fund for Excellence, Marion H. Pelton Scholarship, Matt Betton Jazz Orchestra Scholarship Fund and K-State Marching Band Scholarship

Tampa: Kayla Gilpatrick, College of Agriculture Dean's Discretionary Funding Revenue Fund and Memorial Scholarship; La Tasha Lucas, Memorial Scholarship