1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Melissa Etheridge, ThePianoGuys, Lyle Lovett, Air Supply and more highlight upcoming McCain Performance Series; season tickets on sale June 20

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-2535
785-532-7355 fax
media@k-state.edu

Reach for the stars: Melissa Etheridge, ThePianoGuys, Lyle Lovett, Air Supply and more highlight upcoming McCain Performance Series; season tickets on sale June 20

Sunday, June 19, 2016

 

MANHATTAN — The 2016-2017 McCain Performance Series at Kansas State University will really have audiences seeing stars — and lots of them.

With country music giants Kathy Mattea and the Oakridge Boys, Broadway hits including "Annie," "Pippin" and "42nd Street," and such popular acts as Pat Metheny, Brian Regan, Straight No Chaser, Bobby McFerrin, Chef Robert Irvine from the Food Network and many others, the coming season at McCain will serve up some of the best in entertainment from September through May.

"This year's star-studded lineup may feature the most headliners ever assembled in the history of the McCain Performance Series," said Todd Holmberg, McCain Auditorium executive director. "The series also showcases a wide array of other notable artists, Broadway shows and other attractions from around the world meant to engage, entertain and inspire people of all ages and backgrounds. More so than ever, we have something for everybody at McCain!"

Season tickets for the upcoming season go on sale Monday, June 20, with discounts available for those who subscribe to seven or more events. Single tickets will be available starting July 31. To get priority seating, join the Friends of McCain with a season ticket order of seven or more events by July 8. Friends members receive other exclusive privileges, including invitations to meet the artists, free parking and access to the Director's Lounge before shows and at intermission. Benefits vary by donation level.

Tickets can be purchased at the McCain Auditorium box office or by calling 785-532-6428. A downloadable brochure is available online at k-state.edu/mccain. Discounts are always available to the military and Kansas State University students, faculty and staff.

Kicking of the 2016-2017 McCain Performance Series Sept. 20 will be ThePianoGuys, the YouTube sensation known for mash ups of classical themes with pop songs. The entertainment continues all season long with star attractions like Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Band, Pat Metheny, Straight No Chaser and the Havana Cuba All-Stars in the fall, and the Ten Tenors and Melissa Etheridge in time for the holidays. The hit musical "Mamma Mia!" will help warm up January, while Tower of Power, the Shaolin Warriors, "STOMP" and more will be featured in the spring.

The following shows are part of the 2016-2017 McCain Performance Series. All events will be in McCain Auditorium, unless otherwise noted.

• ThePianoGuys, 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 20.

• "An Evening with Pat Metheny," 7:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 23.

• The Oak Ridge Boys, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Sept. 30.

• The Capitol Steps: "What to Expect When You're Electing," 7:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 7.

• Julie Fowlis: "Music of the Scottish Isles," 4 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 16.

• Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band — Art of Time Ensemble, 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 20.

• Straight No Chaser, 7:30 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 23.

• The Havana Cuba All-Stars: "Cuban Nights," 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 27.

• Lyle Lovett and Robert Earl Keen, 7:30 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 30 — NEW DATE.

• Cyrus Chestnut, 7 and 9:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 4, Wareham Opera House, Manhattan.

• Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University Choir, 7:30 p.m. Monday, Nov. 14.

• Chef Robert Irvine, 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 17.

• "Annie," 7 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 30.

• The Ten Tenors: "Home for the Holidays," 7:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 2.

• Brian Regan, 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 8.

• Melissa Etheridge, 7:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 18.

• Air Supply, 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 19, 2017.

• "Mamma Mia!," 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 24, 2017.

• "Cinderella": Russian National Ballet Theatre, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 28, 2017.

• Odd Squad LIVE!, 6 p.m. Monday, Jan. 30, 2017.

• "Pippin," 7:30 p.m. Monday, Feb. 6, 2017.

• Tower of Power, 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 16, 2017.

• Pilobolus: "Shadowland," 7:30 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 26, 2017.

• Kathy Mattea, 7 and 9:30 p.m. Friday, March 3, 2017, Wareham Opera House, Manhattan.

• Dervish, 7 and 9:30 p.m. Saturday, March 11, 2017, Wareham Opera House, Manhattan.

• Shaolin Warriors, 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 14, 2017.

• Mnozil Brass, 4 p.m. Sunday, April 2.

• "Trojan War: Our Warrior Chorus," 7:30 p.m. Friday, April 7, 2017.

• Bobby McFerrin, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, April 22, 2017.

• "STOMP," 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 27, 2017.

• "42nd Street," 7:30 p.m. Monday, May 8, 2017.

• Neil Berg's "100 Years of Broadway," 7:30 p.m. Sunday, May 14, 2017.

Source

Todd Holmberg
785-532-6425
trholm@k-state.edu

Website

McCain Performance Series

Written by

Beth Bohn
785-532-1544
bbohn@k-state.edu

At a glance

Season tickets for the 2016-2017 McCain Performance Series go on sale Monday, June 20. This year's star-studded lineup includes Pat Metheny, Brian Regan, Straight No Chaser, Bobby McFerrin and much more.