1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »2015
  6. »Heintzelman, Kremer prizes awarded to Master of Architecture graduates for outstanding work

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Heintzelman, Kremer prizes awarded to Master of Architecture graduates for outstanding work

Thursday, June 11, 2015


MANHATTAN — Outstanding design work by fifth-year students in the architecture program at Kansas State University's College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign, has been recognized with the Heintzelman and Kremer prizes.

The Heintzelman Prize is presented annually for outstanding individual design achievements by students in the final semester of the professional Master of Architecture degree program. The 2015 winner is Dain Susman, Master of Architecture graduate,Marion, for his project "The Triangle," which was completed in the fifth-year architectural design studio led by the Steven Ehrlich, the visiting Regnier chair, and Genevieve Baudoin assistant professor of architecture.

The following 2015 Master of Architecture graduates are honorable mention recipients or nominees for the Heintzelman Prize: Brandon Lambrecht, Tecumseh, nominee, for the project "Light of the World Catholic Church," completed in the studio of Nathan Howe, associate professor of architecture; Paul Wickert, Colorado Springs, Colorado, nominee, for the project "The Kinsley Art Center," completed in the studio of Todd Gabbard, professor of architecture; and Dylan Rupar, Heath, Texas, honorable mention for the project "Activating the Park: Southeast Des Moines Branch Library," completed in the studio of Michael Gibson, assistant professor of architecture.

The Heintzelman Prize is named after J. Cranston Heintzelman, a longtime educator in the university's architecture department. After earning a Master of Architecture from Columbia University, Heintzelman moved to Manhattan in 1947 to begin a distinguished career teaching architectural design, sculpture and design theory. The Heintzelman Prize has been awarded by the faculty each year since Heintzelman's retirement in 1983.

The Kremer Prize is awarded for outstanding collaborative design achievements by students in the final semester of the professional Master of Architecture program. This year's winning project was "Making a Mark," conducted in the fifth-year architectural design+make studio led by David Dowell, el dorado inc., Kansas City, Missouri.

The following Master of Architecture graduates were "Making A Mark" project members: Lauren Harness, Garden City; Valerie Gaughan, Overland Park; Devin Brown, Topeka; Wendy Lai, Garden Grove, California; Eric Dernbach, Woodland Park, Colorado; Joshua Rigali, Lake Villa, Illinois; Anna Groppoli, Stillwater, Minnesota; Meredith Stoll, Grain Valley, Missouri; Andy McAllister, O'Fallon, Missouri; Tanner James, St. Joseph, Missouri; Brandon Eversgerd, St. Louis, Missouri; Ian Cole, Weldon Spring, Missouri; Riley Haney, McCook, Nebraska; Brian Delaney, Omaha, Nebraska; and Alex Palmer, Flower Mound, Texas.

Also nominated for the Kremer Prize for the project "Living Link," conducted in the fifth-year architectural design studio led by Vladmir Krstic, professor of architecture, at the Kansas City Design Center, are the following students, all 2015 Master of Architecture graduates, unless otherwise noted: Owen Cobb, Independence, Missouri; Derek Hueffmeier, Lee's Summit, Missouri; Noah Volz, master's student in architecture, Raymore, Missouri; and Lindsey Brockhouse, Baltic, South Dakota.

The Kremer Prize is named after Eugene Kremer, a longtime member and head of the architecture department. As an educator and adviser, Kremer fostered in thousands of students a passion for learning and a desire to achieve excellence in all areas of responsibility. While working throughout his tenure to promote strong and lasting relationships between practicing architects and the college's students, Kremer also created opportunities to engage students in collaborative activities, both on and off campus.

The Heintzelman-Kremer jury included Jay Siebenmorgen, principal at NBBJ; Renee Chow, principal at Studio URBIS and a professor at the University of California, Berkley; Katie Gerfen, executive editor of Design at Architectmagazine; and Mick McConnell, director of architecture and design for Chipotle Mexican Grill. The hosting of jurors and related events is underwritten each year by College of Architecture, Planning and Design alumnus John Davidson Jr. with Davidson Architecture + Engineering, Lenexa.


Kari Lindeen



News tip

Garden City, Marion, Overland Park, Tecumseh and Topeka, Kansas; Garden Grove, California; Colorado Springs and Woodland Park, Colorado; Lake Villa, Illinois; Stillwater, Minnesota; Grain Valley, Independence, Lee's Summit, O'Fallon, Raymore, St. Joseph, and St. Louis, Missouri; McCook and Omaha, Nebraska; Baltic, South Dakota; and Flower Mound and Heath, Texas.

Written by

Thomas Jackson

At a glance

Winners of the Heintzelman and Kremer prizes, presented by the department of architecture at Kansas State University, have been announced.