1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »2014
  6. »Nontraditional students inducted into Pinnacle Honor Society

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Nontraditional students inducted into Pinnacle Honor Society

Tuesday, June 10, 2014


MANHATTAN — An honor society that recognizes students from all walks of life who are achieving academic excellence has 84 new members at Kansas State University. Pinnacle Honor Society members include working parents, mid-life adults, students with disabilities, distance students and international students.

Suzanne Lueker, director of the university's non-traditional and veteran student services, says the number of Pinnacle Honor Society inductees continues to steadily increase each year, with this year's total up from 78 in 2013 and 70 in 2012.

"Our nontraditional student population has been increasing, as has their recognition for academic achievements," Lueker said.

To be eligible to join the university's chapter of Pinnacle, students must achieve a GPA of 3.0 or higher, be of junior or senior standing, and have demonstrated a record of excellence in leadership, scholarship and community service.

"Many of our university's nontraditional students balance families and careers while still excelling academically. It's very rewarding to have the opportunity to honor their efforts and achievements," Lueker said.

Pinnacle inductees for 2014 include:

Mark Haselhorst, junior in management, Alma; Clayton Biggerstaff, senior in general business administration, Arkansas City; Jennifer Guetterman, senior in dietetics, Bucyrus; Benton Duff, senior in general business administration, Chanute; Jolene May, senior in management, and Corinn Whann, senior in life sciences, both from Fort Riley.

From Greater Kansas City: Karla McDaniel, senior in family studies and human services, Kansas City; Sarah McCoy, junior in technology management, Lenexa; Kaitlyn Hernandez-Hedges, senior in elementary education, Olathe; Colleen Lindsay, senior in dietetics, Christopher Moran, senior in general business administration, and Katherine O'Dell, senior in dietetics, all from Overland Park; and Matthew Schmitz, senior in general business administration, Shawnee.

From Junction City:Brad Brackin, senior in fine arts; Karen Hay, senior in elementary education; and Nichole Mader, junior in family studies and human services.

From Manhattan: Paige Aldershof, senior in management; Eunice Aquino, senior in microbiology; Zocarlo Benologa, senior in social sciences; David Breese, senior in social sciences; Gina Buchholz, senior in computer science; Skyler Butler, senior in mechanical engineering; Melina Campa, senior in psychology; Mandy Ebert, junior in social work; Alicia Egan, senior in modern languages; Nathan Fisher, senior in industrial engineering; Tory Fisher, senior in life sciences; Michelle Graham, senior in general business administration; Christopher Harris, senior in political science; Derek Hobling, senior in psychology; Brittany Hollerbach, senior in kinesiology; Ronika Ledesma, senior in accounting; Philip Major, senior in management information systems; Whitney McGee, senior in elementary education; Chelsea Murphy, senior in elementary education; Rhiannon Nedland, junior in family studies and human services; Alison Nwafor, senior in social work; Carol Regehr, senior in accounting; Ryan Salliotte, junior in civil engineering; Tami Sparks, senior in dietetics; Brooke Thompson, senior in architecture; Derrick Till, senior in psychology; Elsa Toburen, junior in family studies and human services; Michele Ulmer, senior in psychology; Denise Wilkinson, junior in apparel and textiles; and Cara Wittkopf, senior in general business administration.

Carol O'Neal, senior in general business administration, and Kristen Ray, senior in sociology, both from Marysville; Susan Rush, senior in social work, McPherson; Hali Schultz, senior in general business, Miltonvale.

From Salina: Joseph Carney, senior in aeronautical technology; Krystal Kershaw, senior in social work; Megan Slubowski, senior in social work; Robert Willing,  senior in professional piloting; and Michael Wilson, senior in general business administration.

Kelsie Hoss, junior in animal sciences and industry, Sharon Springs; Bret Engel, senior in management, and Cody Hughes, senior in secondary education, both from Wamego; Ann Wassenberg, senior in dietetics, Wetmore; Derek Judd, senior in dietetics, Elizabeth King, junior in social sciences, and Kristine Nguyen, senior in dietetics, from Wichita; Darcie Darby, senior in family studies and human services, Winfield.

From out of state:

Amanda Welch, junior in food science and industry, Centerton Arkansas; Marci Bunn, senior in general business administration, Gainesville, Florida; Joshua Hamilton, senior in technology management, Navarre, Florida; Sandra Scaliatine, senior in food science and industry, Aurora, Illinois; Jessica Flores, senior in family studies and human services, Ayer, Massachusetts; Elizabeth Jardin, senior in dietetics, Bridgewater, Massachusetts; Tara Hovis, senior in dietetics, Corunna, Michigan; Lisa Goehring-Lindemann, senior in nutrition and health, Burnsville, Minnesota; Wesley Green,senior in food science and industry, Kansas City, Missouri; Renee Wegworth, junior in social sciences, Bellevue, Nebraska; Michael Denk, senior in biology, Brick, New Jersey; Stacie Lynch, senior in dietetics, Warwick, New York; Kelly Rhinesmith, senior in dietetics, Camp Lejeune, North Carolina; Rebekah Smith, senior in family studies and human services, Butler, Pennsylvania; Allison Fisher, senior in dietetics, Seven Fields, Pennsylvania; Carissa Schwandt, senior in dietetics, Hamill, South Dakota; Nanette Zahler, senior in dietetics, Round Rock, Texas.

From Virginia: Kiersten Savage, senior in dietetics, Lanexa; Christina Hastings, senior in animal sciences and industry, Leesburg; Andrea Frankenfield, senior in dietetics, Purcellville.

Aeysha Major, senior in animal sciences and industry, Baldwin, Wisconsin.


Suzanne Lueker


Pinnacle Honor Society

News tip

Alma, Arkansas City, Bucyrus, Chanute, Fort Riley, Junction City, Kansas City, Lenexa, Manhattan, Marysville, McPherson, Miltonvale, Olathe, Overland Park, Salina, Sharon Springs, Shawnee, Wamego, Wetmore, Wichita and Winfield; Centerton, Arkansas; Gainesville and Navarre, Florida; Aurora, Illinois; Ayer and Bridgewater, Massachusetts; Corunna, Michigan; Burnsville, Minnesota; Kansas City, Missouri; Bellevue, Nebraska; Brick, New Jersey; Warwick, New York; Camp Lejeune, North Carolina; Butler and Seven Fields, Pennsylvania; Hamill, South Dakota; Round Rock, Texas; Lanexa, Leesburg and Purcellville, Virginia; and Baldwin, Wisconsin

Written by

Anne Sisley

At a glance

Pinnacle Honor Society, which recognizes academic excellence by nontraditional students, has 84 new members at Kansas State University.