1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »2015
  6. »Kansas State University nominates four students for Truman Scholarship

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Kansas State University nominates four students for Truman Scholarship

Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2015



MANHATTAN — Kansas State University has nominated four students — Ciara Chambers, Derby; Eleanor Dickens, Overland Park; Kenneth "Garrett" Kays, Weir; and Roxanne Bunnell, Lake Station, Indiana — for the 2015 Harry S. Truman Scholarship.

The Truman Scholarship recognizes college students with exceptional leadership potential who are committed to careers in public service, government or the nonprofit sector. If awarded, it provides up to $30,000 in financial support for graduate education. The four nominated Kansas State University students will compete with more than 600 nominees from across the nation for the 60 scholarships awarded. Finalists will be announced Feb. 27, and scholars will be announced April 15.

Chambers, a junior in political science, Spanish and international studies with a pre-law emphasis, is a member of Kappa Delta sorority and an ambassador for the College of Arts & Sciences. She is the vice president and judicial affairs chair of the Panhellenic executive board and the social and fundraising chair of the university's Model United Nations Club. She has received the Lori Payne Memorial Scholarship, the Megan Taylor Scholarship from the university's modern language department and the Rieger-McCrery Scholarship from the university's political science department. In 2013, she received the Fellowship for the Study of Classical Liberalism sponsored by the Fred C. and Mary R. Koch Foundation. She plans to attend law school and focus on immigration law and immigration policy after graduation. Chambers, a graduate of Derby High School, is the daughter of Steve and Stephanie Chambers, Derby.

Dickens is a junior in political science, anthropology and international studies, with a minor in economics. She is the president of the International Coordinating Council; chair of K-State Proud, a student-led fundraising campaign for Kansas State University students and a part of the Student Foundation; a student senator for the College of Arts & Sciences; and a member of Alpha Delta Pi sorority. She has received a political science scholarship, the university's Foundation Scholarship and an Office of International Programs scholarship. She researches the effects of globalization and technological growth of the human and sex trafficking trade. She is interested in public policy and pursuing a master's degree in international development and diplomacy. Dickens, a graduate of Blue Valley Southwest High School, is the daughter of David and Linda Dickens, Overland Park.

Kays is a junior in agriculture economics and natural resources and environmental sciences. He is a member and director of alumni relations for Alpha Gamma Rho fraternity. He also is a College of Agriculture ambassador and a College of Agriculture student senator for the Student Governing Association, as well as a member of Kansas 4-H. Kays plans to pursue his master's degree in agricultural economics and a career in agricultural trade policy. Kays, a graduate of St. Mary's Colgan, is the son of Kelly and Connie Kays, Weir.

Bunnell is a junior in economics and Latin American studies. She is a member of Rotoract. Before coming to Kansas State University, she worked in Iraq as a civilian contractor alongside the U.S. State Department and military. Her undergraduate research project focuses on Latin America education. She has plans to pursue her master's degree in international development before working with a development-focused nonprofit organization. Bunnell is a graduate of Thomas A. Edison Jr./Sr. High School in Lake Station, Indiana, and the daughter of Matthew and Ellen Vogel, Anchorage, Alaska.

Since the establishment of the Truman Foundation in 1977, 34 Kansas State University students have been awarded the Truman Scholarship — more than any other state-supported university. In 1996, the Truman Foundation named Kansas State University a Truman Scholar Honor Institution, one of 17 inaugural schools to receive the title.

To learn more about competing for future Truman Scholarships or other scholarships while a student at Kansas State University, contact Jim Hohenbary at jimlth@k-state.edu.


Jim Hohenbary

News tip

Derby, Overland Park and Weir, Kansas; Anchorage, Alaska; and Lake Station, Indiana.

Written by

Lauren Meehan