1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Kansas State University selects Civic Leadership Scholarship winners and finalists

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Kansas State University selects Civic Leadership Scholarship winners and finalists 

Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2016


Front row, from left: Katie Buhler, Jentry Scherer, Emma DeMaranville and Ashley Pringle. Back row, from left: Pat Bosco, vice president for student life and dean of students, Kansas State University; Gracen Jarrett, Jacob Beckley, William Willson and Rogan Tokach. Not pictured are Ethan Copple and Mason Wolfe. | Download this photo.

MANHATTAN — Kansas State University recently awarded three high school seniors the K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship from a group of 10 finalists. The scholarship rewards students who are making a difference and demonstrating creativity by developing projects and programs with a lasting impact on those they serve.

Gracen Jarrett, Washington, Indiana, a senior at Washington Catholic High School, received first place and a $4,000 K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship. Rogan Tokach, Abilene, a senior at Abilene High School, received the second-place scholarship of $2,500, while Katie Buhler, Pratt, a senior at Pratt High School, received the third-place scholarship of $2,000.

The finalists competed in an on-campus interview and recognition day Jan. 21. They were selected for demonstrating a commitment to serving others in their community, school or place of worship. Summaries of the winners' civic engagement are online at k-state.edu/admissions/finaid/civicrecipients.html.

John Carlin, former Kansas governor and a professor at the university's Staley School of Leadership Studies, served as honorary chairman of the Civic Leadership Scholarship competition.

"Carlin provided a supportive voice to all the finalists," said Kiley Moody, coordinator of the university's New Student Services.

The following high school seniors were finalists for Kansas State University's Civic Leadership Scholarship and received $500 scholarships:

Jentry Scherer, Lancaster, who attends Atchison County Community High School; William Willson, Olathe, who attends Olathe East High School; Emma DeMaranville, Tonganoxie, who attends Tonganoxie High School; and Ashley Pringle, Yates Center, who attends Yates Center High School.

From out of state:

Mason Wolfe, Monument, Colorado, who attends Lewis-Palmer High School; Jacob Beckley, Butler, Missouri, who attends Butler R-V High School; and Ethan Copple, Elkhorn, Nebraska, who attends Elkhorn South High School. 


Kiley Moody


Civic Leadership Scholarships 

News tip

Abilene, Lancaster, Olathe, Pratt, Tonganoxie and Yates Center, Kansas; Monument, Colorado; Washington, Indiana; Butler, Missouri; and Elkhorn, Nebraska.

Written by

Jennifer Tidball

At a glance

Teenagers are not solely causing language change, according to Kansas State University research. Language changes occur throughout a lifetime and not just during the teenage years.

Notable quote

"We aren't eliminating the possibility that teenagers are driving sound change, but we might be grossly overstating the role of teenagers."

— Mary Kohn, assistant professor of English