1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Russian National Orchestra and pianist Yuja Wang bring Russian masterpieces to McCain

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Russian National Orchestra and pianist Yuja Wang bring Russian masterpieces to McCain

Tuesday, Feb. 16, 2016 


MANHATTAN — International superstar pianist Yuja Wang joins the Russian National Orchestra for a McCain Performance Series presentation at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 26, at Kansas State University's McCain Auditorium.

Wang's technique, interpretation and power will be showcased in Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 2. The program also features Stravinsky's ballet score "The Firebird."

Wang, 28, is widely recognized as one of the most important artists of her generation. She has been universally praised for the authority over the most complex technical demands of the repertoire, the depth of her musical insight, as well as her fresh interpretations and stage presence.

The Russian National Orchestra maintains an active international tour schedule, appearing in Europe, Asia and the Americas. Guest soloists who have toured with the orchestra include Martha Argerich, Yefim Bronfman, Lang Lang, Pinchas Zukerman, Sir James Galway, Joshua Bell, Itzhak Perlman and Renée Fleming. The orchestra was ranked in 2008 by Gramophone as one of the world's top 15 best orchestras.

Tickets for the Russian National Orchestra with Yuja Wang start at $10, plus applicable taxes and fees, and are available now at the McCain Auditorium box office, online at k-state.edu/mccain, or by calling 785-532-6428.




Todd Holmberg


McCain Performance Series

Written by

Malorie Wagner