1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »February 2012
  6. »Feb. 7, 2012

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Source: Kiley Moody, 785-532-6318, kmoody@k-state.edu
Hometown connection: Allen, Augusta, Hutchinson, Mission Hills, Overland Park, Prairie Village and Silver Lake.
Photo available: http://www.k-state.edu/media/images/feb12/presidential.jpg
Photo cutline: Back row, from left: Pat Bosco, vice president for student life, and Raeann Whitney, Kara Schnake Maxwell Walden, Jacob Schroeder and Sida He. From row, from left: Christa McKittrick, Paige Wendland, Jason Banning and Melissa Coats.

Tuesday, Feb. 7, 2012

Presidential material: Two Kansas high school seniors receive state's largest scholarship

MANHATTAN -- Two high school seniors from Kansas are receiving the Presidential Scholarship -- the largest award in the state -- from Kansas State University.

Paige Wendland, Prairie Village, a senior at St. Teresa's Academy, and Jacob Schroeder, Silver Lake, a senior at Silver Lake High School, are recipients of the $20,000 per year scholarship, which is worth $80,000 over four years.

The Presidential Scholarship is the largest and most selective scholarship award made by Kansas State University. It seeks to recognize students who have been truly outstanding, both academically and as student leaders, during their high school career.

The scholarship competition was Jan. 23. The university received 345 applications, and a selection committee chose nine student finalists to interview for the Presidential Scholarship. Each Presidential finalist received a four-year renewable scholarship.

"K-State takes great pride in being able to recognize outstanding students from Kansas and across the region who are making a significant impact in their high schools and communities. I am confident these students will become great K-Staters and I look forward to welcoming them to our K-State family," said university President Kirk Schulz.

The Presidential Scholarship is made possible with support of noted K-State alumnus Mark Chapman, who currently provides funding for two Presidential Scholars.

Presidential Scholarship finalists, all recipients of four-year renewable scholarships from Kansas State University, include:

Melissa Coats, Allen, senior at Mission Valley High School; Kara Schnake, Augusta, senior at Augusta High School; Jason Banning, Hutchinson, senior at Trinity Catholic High School; Christa McKittrick, Mission Hills, senior at Shawnee Mission East High School.

From Overland Park: Sida He, senior at Blue Valley North High School; Maxwell Walden, senior at Olathe East High School; and Raeann Whitney, senior at Olathe South High School.