1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »February 2012
  6. »Feb. 9, 2012

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Source: Kiley Moody, 785-532-6318, kmoody@k-state.edu
Hometown connection: Courtland, Hutchinson, Leawood, Little River, Olathe, Overland Park, Salina, Wakefield and Weir, Kan.; and St. Joseph, Mo.
Photo available: http://www.k-state.edu/media/images/feb12/kassebaum.jpg
Photo cutline: Back row, from left: Pat Bosco, vice president for student life, and Jessica Steele, Angela Mundakkal, Laura Yarrow, Anna Dillon, Makenzie Hrabik, Garrett Kays and Zachary Hendrickson. From row, from left: Rebecca Jenkins, Emily Stolfus, Corinna Hodson, Ty Bivens and Brett Wagner.

Thursday, Feb. 9, 2012

Class acts: Five high school seniors earn Kassebaum Scholarships

MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University's Kassebaum Scholarship is being awarded to four high school seniors from Kansas and one from Missouri.

Named in honor of former Kansas Sen. Nancy Kassebaum-Baker, the Kassebaum Scholarship recognizes students whose academic and extracurricular achievements reflect the potential for and desire to make a difference through energetic leadership in the public service arena.

The scholarship competition was Jan. 23. K-State received 143 applications, and a selection committee chose 12 student finalists to interview for the scholarship. Finalists not selected for the Kassebaum Scholarship received a four-year renewable scholarship.

Recipients are:

Zachary Hendrickson, Hutchinson, senior at Buhler High School; Angela Mundakkal, Leawood, senior at Blue Valley High School; Corinna Hodson, Olathe, senior at Olathe Northwest High School; Brett Wagner, Overland Park, senior at Shawnee Mission South High School; and Emily Stolfus, St. Joseph, Mo., senior at Central High School.

Finalists for the 2012-2013 Kassebaum Scholarship include:

Ty Bivens, Courtland, senior at Pike Valley High School; Anna Dillon, Little River, senior at McPherson High School; Makenzie Hrabik, Olathe, senior at Olathe North High School; Rebecca Jenkins, Overland Park, senior at Blue Valley High School; Jessica Steele, Salina, senior at Salina South High School; Laura Yarrow, Wakefield, senior at Clay Center High School; and Garrett Kays, Weir, senior at St. Marys-Colgan High School.

The Kassebaum Scholarship has been awarded to 72 students since its inception in 2001. K-State leads all public universities in Truman, Rhodes, Goldwater and Udall scholars. Often recipients of these prestigious scholarships come from the Kassebaum Scholarship program.

"Kansas State University is honored to recognize students who have a passion for public service and want to pursue a career in this area. I am confident these students will have a lasting impact here at K-State and do great things for our university," said President Kirk Schulz.

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services supports the Kassebaum Scholarship program. Steve Sweeney, Chartwell's president and CEO said, "We're proud to help students succeed in accomplishing their life goals and support our partnership with Kansas State University. Congratulations to all of the students embarking on a promising academic career at K-State."