[an error occurred while processing this directive]

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Architecture students earn Bowman Design Forum honors

Thursday, Dec. 19, 2013



MANHATTAN -- Five architecture students earned honors at Kansas State University's 15th annual Bowman Design Forum.

The Dec. 11 forum, sponsored by Manhattan architecture firm Bowman Bowman Novick Inc. and hosted by the College of Architecture, Planning & Design, brings internationally acclaimed architects to campus to discuss work by students in the architecture department.

One student from each of the department's five third-year studio sections was selected to present his or her design for a "Flint Hills Center for Craft." Each student participant prepared a model, drawings and a PowerPoint presentation.

This year's guest jurors were Garth Rockcastle, a fellow of the American Institute of Architects and professor and former dean of the School of Architecture at the University of Maryland; Maura Rockcastle, landscape architect and senior associate at Tom Leader Studio in Minneapolis; and Brent Bowman and Patrick Schaub, both principals at Bowman Bowman Novick. Jurors Garth Rockcastle and his daughter, Maura Rockcastle, also presented the lecture "Common Threads" to students and faculty. The lecture discussed the commonality of their work despite being in different disciplines and practices.

"As always, we were very pleased with the event this year," Schaub said. "Our guest critics were impressed with the level of conceptual thought and the rigorous development of the projects presented. Collectively, these students and their work represented the college well, and the program should be very proud. The quality of the work, the obvious investment by the students, and the fantastic interaction with the students, the faculty and our guests make it an honor to continue in our support of the Bowman Design Forum."

The jurors awarded $4,000 in prizes to the winning students. All are juniors in architecture and their awards include:

Brent Higgins, Basehor, $500 Merit Award; and Holly Wolf, Wichita, $500 Merit Award.

From out of state: Christopher Sanford, Colorado Springs, Colo., $1,500 Honor Award; and Frederik Heuser, Kansas City, Mo., $750 Special Merit Award.

From out of country: Lanting Su, China, $750 Special Merit Award.

The winners' studio instructors included Michael McGlynn, associate professor of architecture, for Higgins; Bruce Wrightsman, assistant professor of architecture, for Wolf; Gary Coates, professor of architecture, for Sanford; Judy Gordon, assistant professor of architecture, for Heuser; and Emily Koenig, instructor of architecture, for Su.

Fifteen student projects from across the studio sections, including the Bowman Forum nominees, are now on display along the second floor of the east wing of Seaton Hall through Jan. 21, 2014. The exhibition is free and open to the public.


Michael McGlynn


College of Architecture, Planning & Design

News tip

Basehor, Manhattan and Wichita, Kan.; Colorado Springs, Colo.; and Kansas City, Mo.

Written by

Thom Jackson

At a glance

The 15th annual Bowman Design Forum at Kansas State University earned five College of Architecture, Planning & Design students special honors.
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  • Updated: 12/18/13
  • [an error occurred while processing this directive]
  • Updated: 7/6/23