1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »2015
  6. »Ted and Sue Knapp Delineation Competition select nine APDesign students to receive awards

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Ted and Sue Knapp Delineation Competition selects nine APDesign students to receive awards

Monday, April 27, 2015


MANHATTAN — Work by students from Kansas State University's College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign, for the annual Ted and Sue Knapp Delineation Competition is on display in the Chang Gallery at Seaton Hall through Friday, May 1. The gallery is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays.

The annual competition was open to all students at APDesign, including those in the articulated program at the University of Missouri, Kansas City. It is sponsored by Ted Knapp, a 1964 Kansas State University architecture alumnus, and his wife, Sue. Competition awards include $2,000 for best in show-first place and $1,000 for best in show-second place. First place in each competition category earns $250, while honorable mention earns $100.

The competition jury included Ted Knapp, principal at TK Architects, Kansas City; Matt Knox, APDesign architecture department head and Brianna Sprague, APDesign graphic designer.

The following APDesign students earned honors in the competition:

Sarah McDonald, fifth-year student in architecture, honorable mention for "Analysis of a Pineapple," and Nick Nelson, fifth-year student in architecture, best in show-first place for "Train Eater," both from Overland Park; and Zane Parks, second-year student in architecture, Wichita, first place in the freehand black and white category for "Richard Meier High Museum."

From out of state:

Dain Susman, fifth-year student in architecture, Sedalia, Colorado, first place in the computer category, for "Shrouded Chapel"; Eric Dernbach, fifth-year student in architecture, Woodland Park, Colorado, best in show-second place for "City"; Nicholas Hnastchenko, fifth-year student in architecture, Shorewood, Minnesota, first place in the mixed media category for "Kaleidoscope"; Alex Palmer, fifth-year student in architecture, Flower Mound, Texas, honorable mention for "The Oasis"; and Nicholas Mercado, fifth-year student in architecture, Plano, Texas, first place in the freehand color category for "Tribute."


College of Architecture, Planning & Design

News tip

Overland Park and Wichita, Kansas; Sedalia and Woodland Park, Colorado; Shorewood, Minnesota; and Flower Mound and Plano, Texas.

Written by

Thom Jackson

At a glance

College of Architecture, Planning & Design students earned honors for their work in the annual Ted and Sue Knapp Delineation Competition.