1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Marking its 50-year anniversary, the Beta of Kansas Chapter inducts 52 Phi Beta Kappa members at K-State

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Marking its 50-year anniversary, the Beta of Kansas Chapter inducts 52 Phi Beta Kappa members at K-State

Thursday, May 2, 2024



MANHATTAN — The Kansas State University chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Beta of Kansas, recently inducted 52 members. These new members represent 25 majors and consist of 45 seniors and seven juniors.

The Beta of Kansas Chapter also inducted Benjamin McCloskey, associate professor of modern languages, as an honorary member of Phi Beta Kappa. McCloskey has been instrumental in developing the classical studies program at K-State.

The following are the new inductees:

Alyvia Johnson, senior in humanities, Abilene; Kamri Younger, senior in kinesiology, Auburn; Chase Johnson, senior in biology, Berryton; Logan Grauberger, senior in history, and Rachel Pratt, junior in psychology, both from Eudora; and Marrissa Raynesford, senior in chemistry, Hays.

Caitlyn Champagne, senior in kinesiology, Lawrence; Francis Sheehan, senior in theatre, Leavenworth; Andrew Navarro, senior in political science, Leawood; Ash Leslie, senior in French and Spanish, Lecompton; Kutina Cabrera, senior in French, Lauren Kropf, senior in biology, and Nina Tiger, senior in anthropology, all from Lenexa; Jillian Canterbury, senior in Spanish education, Spanish and French, Lincoln; Jacqueline Waugh, senior in English, Lindsborg; and Madison Quinn, senior in advertising and public relations, Louisburg.

Richelle Collado, senior in English, and Anna Poggi-Corradini, senior in English and mathematics, both from Manhattan; Merissa Christensen, senior in English, Norton; Ryan Cole, senior in political science, and Lance Wackerla, graduate masters in regional and community planning, both from Olathe.

From Overland Park: Grace Burgett, junior in English; Mark Early, senior in political science and history; Jordan Kreps, senior in life sciences; Brynn Minor, junior in kinesiology; Ava Modin, senior in political science and philosophy; Madeline Willson, senior in mass communications; and Lindsey Wilson, senior in psychology.

Hannah Burns, senior in psychology, Pittsburg; and Sophie Lenkiewicz, senior in anthropology, Salina.

From Shawnee: Riley Brokeshoulder, senior in English; Rose Elbert, senior in horticulture; AJ January, senior in history; and Ana Rojas-Plumberg, senior in political science. 

Lauren Andrews, senior in marketing, Stilwell; Garrett Silvers, senior in anthropology, Valley Falls; Alan Salazar-Munoz, senior in social sciences, Wakefield; and Maranda Haile, graduate masters in English, Wamego.

From Wichita: Chase Bauman, senior in Spanish; Josie Brooks, senior in human development and family science; Clare Prohaska, junior in biology; and Catherine Torkelson, senior in English.

From out of state: Heather Crawshaw, junior in biology, Tucson, Arizona; McKenna Wise, senior in history, Springfield, Illinois; Lauren Apprill, senior in biochemistry, West Des Moines, Iowa; Grace Tohill, senior in environmental science, Lee’s Summit, Missouri; Darius Skillen, senior mathematics education, Rock Port, Missouri; Meghan Ward, senior in history, North Platte, Nebraska; Sarah Troub, senior in fine arts, Omaha, Nebraska; Cassidy Hartig, senior in English, Plattsmouth, Nebraska; Ellie Brandt, junior in English, Olean, New York; and Jourdin Edwards, junior in athletic training and rehabilitation sciences, Prosper, Texas.

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious academic honor society in the United States. Members are selected based on GPA, knowledge of a second language and depth and breadth of study in the humanities, social sciences, and physical and natural sciences.

The Beta of Kansas Chapter is one of only two Phi Beta Kappa organizations in Kansas. Founded in 1974, it initiated 24 members in its first year and has inducted such honorary members as Jimmy Carter and the famous composer, Aaron Copland. Approximately 1,800 members have been elected over the past 50 years.

Media contact

Division of Communications and Marketing


Phi Beta Kappa, Beta of Kansas

News tip

Abilene, Auburn, Berryton, Eudora, Hays, Lawrence, Leavenworth, Leawood, Lecompton, Lenexa, Lincoln, Lindsborg, Louisburg, Manhattan, Norton, Olathe, Overland Park, Pittsburg, Salina, Shawnee, Stilwell, Valley Falls, Wakefield, Wamego and Wichita, Kansas; and Tucson, Arizona; Springfield, Illinois; West Des Moines, Iowa; Lee’s Summit and Rock Port, Missouri; North Platte, Omaha and Plattsmouth, Nebraska; Olean, New York; and Prosper, Texas.

Written by

Phillip Marzluf