1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »K-State students inducted into Phi Beta Kappa honor society

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


K-State students inducted into Phi Beta Kappa honor society

Wednesday, May 10, 2023



MANHATTAN — The Kansas State University chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Beta of Kansas, has initiated 41 new members into the society.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest and most prestigious academic honor society and has more than 500,000 members. Since its founding at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia, in 1776, the society has fostered and recognized excellence in the liberal arts and sciences, and its gold key is widely recognized as a symbol of academic distinction. 

The K-State chapter has existed since 1974. Many U.S. presidents and U.S. Supreme Court justices belong to this highly selective honorary society recognizing high achievement across the liberal arts, humanities, languages, social sciences and natural sciences.

The following students are new members of K-State's chapter of Phi Beta Kappa:

Lucas Cook, senior in English, Abilene; Kylie Litavniks, senior in finance, Andover; Elena Stoll, senior in modern languages, Burdett; Katherine Sleichter, senior in political science, Clay Center; Nathan York, senior in computer science, Derby; Katie Painter, master's student in English, Frontenac; Brett Scholes, senior in modern languages, Hutchinson; Ana Vasquez, junior in theatre, Kansas City; Bryn Reed, senior in English, Leavenworth; and Hamilton Brown, senior in philosophy, Leawood.

From Manhattan: Louie Cabrera, senior in microbiology; Elizabeth Chapman, senior in political science; Naomi Galindo, master's student in modern languages; Susanna Jones, senior in anthropology; and Leah Mills, senior in fisheries, wildlife, conservation, and environmental biology.

From Olathe: Theresa Burg, senior in kinesiology; Ashley Elliott, senior in history; Emily Pine, senior in mechanical engineering; and Taya Semon, senior in modern languages.

From Overland Park: Gwyneth Davidson, junior in mass communications; Sylvia Fritz, senior in biology; Jason Garlett, senior in social studies education; Katherine Lewis, first-year veterinary medicine student; Anabel Myers, senior in psychology; Macy Steinlage, senior in political science; and Alexis Webb, senior in biology.

Lidia Ragland, senior in kinesiology, Prairie Village; Leah Hennes, senior in English, and Rebecca Hough, senior in psychology, both from Salina.

From Shawnee: Kyla Barry, senior in English; Amelia Mullin, senior in architectural engineering; Dayton Raines, senior in fisheries, wildlife, conservation, and environmental biology; and Ellienne Warnes, senior in biology.

Evan Hancock, senior in psychology, Westmoreland; and Grace Bally, senior in biology, and Dominic Castelli, senior in microbiology, both from Wichita.

From out of state: Jeremy Kamman, senior in physics, Antioch, Illinois; Lydia Johnson, senior in professional strategic selling, Prior Lake, Minnesota; Madhavi Madrid, senior in biology, Kansas City, Missouri; Josephine Medill, senior in history, Roca, Nebraska; and Madison Franklin, senior in anthropology, McKinney, Texas.

Media contact

Division of Communications and Marketing


Phi Beta Kappa, Beta of Kansas

News tip

Abilene, Andover, Burdett, Clay Center, Derby, Frontenac, Hutchinson, Kansas City, Leavenworth, Leawood, Manhattan, Olathe, Overland Park, Prairie Village, Salina, Shawnee, Westmoreland and Wichita, Kansas; Antioch, Illinois; Prior Lake, Minnesota; Kansas City, Missouri; Roca, Nebraska; and McKinney, Texas.

Written by

Necia Chronister