1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Two high school seniors earn K-State's Edgerley-Franklin Leadership Scholarship

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Two high school seniors earn K-State's Edgerley-Franklin Leadership Scholarship 

Monday, March 13, 2023



MANHATTAN — Two high school students are recipients of Kansas State University's Edgerley-Franklin Leadership Scholarship, which recognizes outstanding high school seniors who have made contributions to the communities in which they live.

The following students are receiving the $5,000 scholarship for the 2023-2024 school year: 

Gaberiel Schenk, Independence, a senior at Independence High School and Khalia Woods, Lee's Summit, Missouri, a senior at Lee's Summit High School.

The university received a significant number of applications for the scholarship, and a selection committee chose seven finalists to interview. Finalists participated in an on-campus interview and recognition day earlier this semester. Scholarships are renewable for up to three years with a 3.0 K-State GPA.

The following students were finalists for the scholarship:

Darcee Ashcraft, Holton, a senior at Holton High School; Kyle Fleming, Olathe, a senior at Olathe Northwest High School; and Kaitlyn Countryman, Quinter, a senior from Quinter High School. 

From out of state: Alex Henderson, Vicksburg, Mississippi, a senior at Visksburg High School; Anabel Gundersen, St. Charles, Missouri, a senior at Francis Howell Central High School; and Mallory Applegate, Cozad, Nebraska, a senior at Cozad High School.

This scholarship is made possible by the Edgerley and Franklin families, who continuously demonstrate leadership and support of service to individuals from urban areas. It was created in memory of Bernard Franklin's wife, Elsia, who was committed to helping better the lives of young girls in urban Alabama.

The Edgerleys have been longtime supporters of K-State and have contributed to a number of scholarships, funds and faculty chairs in the past 15 years, including the Paul B. and Sandra M. Edgerley Business Administration Scholarship, the Paul B. Edgerley Chair in Business Administration, the Robert M. Edgerley Chair in International Business, the Edgerley Family Dean in the College of Business Administration and the President Wefald Leadership Chair in the College of Business Administration.


Edgerley-Franklin Leadership Scholarship

News tip
Holton, Independence, Olathe and Quinter, Kansas; Vicksburg, Mississippi; Lee's Summit and St. Charles, Missouri; and Cozad, Nebraska.

Written by

Holly Gerke