1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »K-State Edgerley-Franklin Leadership Scholarship to three for community service

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


K-State Edgerley-Franklin Leadership Scholarship to three for community service

Thursday, March 3, 2022



MANHATTAN — Three high school students are recipients of Kansas State University's Edgerley-Franklin Leadership Scholarship, which recognizes outstanding high school seniors who have made contributions to the communities in which they live.

The following students are receiving the $5,000 scholarship for the 2022-2023 school year:

Sydnie Sykes, Leawood, a senior at Blue Valley North High School; Elijah Ostrom, Manhattan, a senior at Manhattan High School; and Delaney Michel, Wichita, a senior at Maize South High School.

The university received a significant number of applications for the scholarship, and a selection committee chose seven finalists to interview. Finalists participated in an on-campus interview and recognition day earlier this semester. Scholarships are renewable for up to three years with a 3.0 K-State GPA.

Finalists for the scholarship included Ethan Ko, Lenexa, a senior at Kansas City Christian School; Matthew Holzmeister, Overland Park, a senior at St. Thomas Aquinas High School; Jason Mbagwu, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, a senior at Episcopal High School; and Ernest Mattson, Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, a senior at White Bear Lake High School South.

The Edgerley-Franklin scholarship is made possible by the Edgerley and Franklin families, who continuously demonstrate leadership and support of service to individuals from urban areas. It was created in memory of Bernard Franklin's wife, Elsia, who was committed to helping better the lives of young girls in urban Alabama.

The Edgerleys have been longtime supporters of K-State, contributing to a number of scholarships, funds and faculty chairs in the past 14 years, including the Paul B. and Sandra M. Edgerley Business Administration Scholarship, the Paul B. Edgerley Chair in Business Administration, the Robert M. Edgerley Chair in International Business; the Edgerley Family Dean in the College of Business Administration; and the President Wefald Leadership Chair.


Edgerley-Franklin Leadership Scholarship

News tip

Leawood, Lenexa, Manhattan, Overland Park and Wichita, Kansas; Baton Rouge, Louisiana; and Vadnais Heights, Minnesota.