1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Sophomore leadership honorary selects 2020-2021 members

Monday, April 6, 2020


MANHATTAN — Kansas State University's Silver Key, a sophomore leadership honor society, has selected new members for the 2020-2021 academic year.

To be eligible for Silver Key, students must have at least a 3.0 grade point average, be a 2019 high school graduate, and in their freshmen year at the university.

Silver Key members take part in a variety of community service projects throughout the semester. Past projects have included hosting children from the Boys and Girls Club at K-State Athletics events; partnering with the K-State Recycling Center; writing cards and making quilts for a local veterans center; collecting donations for the Manhattan Emergency Shelter; highway and neighborhood cleanup efforts; and afternoon visits to Stoneybrook and Meadowlark, senior living communities in Manhattan.

The following students, all who will be sophomores in the next school year, are members of Silver Key for 2020-2021; included are major and hometown:

Delaney Thomas, interior design, Basehor; Kara Eilert, business administration, Beloit; Elizabeth Fangman, biology and pre-medicine, Bucyrus; Nolan Barton, mechanical engineering, Great Bend.

From Greater Kansas City: Katie Whittley, athletic training and pre-physical therapy, Gardner; Corbin Fullerton, mechanical engineering, and Brianna Wagoner, electrical engineering, both from Kansas City; Ryleigh Diskin, elementary education, Kirsten Jackson, business administration and pre-law, Megan McDuff, dietetics, Kennedy Mounce, journalism and mass communications, Haley Schwartz, music education, and Agel Yor, apparel and textiles, all from Olathe; Emily Anderson, open option, Ashley McGalliard, communication sciences and disorders, and Sarah Stuppy, early childhood education, all from Overland Park; and Grace Hartman, civil engineering, and Olivia Terryberry, nutrition, kinesiology and pre-physical therapy, both from Shawnee.

Morgan Phillips, open option and pre-law, Hollenberg; Curtis Niehues, biochemistry, Holton; Maria Apel, psychology, Lindsborg; Katy Grove, athletic training, and Hayden Gwinner, business administration, both from Manhattan; Carlie Jones, apparel and textiles, Rolla.

From Salina: Audrey Burgoon, secondary education; Levi Johnson, architectural engineering; and Holly Sanderson, open option and pre-medicine.

Madeline Rogers, dietetics, Seneca; Ashley McLoughlin, animal sciences and industry, and pre-veterinary medicine, Spring Hill; Allie Jensen, nutritional sciences and pre-medicine, St. George; Sara Haggard, biochemistry and pre-law, andKinsley Searles, English, both from Topeka; Emma McKee, industrial engineering, Wamego; Brylee Aldridge, kinesiology and pre-physical therapy, Weskan.

From Wichita: Leslie Carvalho, psychology; Veronica Lipinski, human development and family science, and pre-nursing; and Kinsley Ochsner, biochemistry and pre-medicine.

From out of state: Olivia Hughes, communication sciences and disorders, Algonquin, Illinois; Jenika Hazelbaker, agronomy and global food systems leadership, Wentzville, Missouri; Jadyn Greisen, mechanical engineering, Lincoln, Nebraska; and Keri Brock, dietetics, Omaha, Nebraska.


Kathryn Harth

News tip

Basehor, Beloit, Bucyrus, Gardner, Great Bend, Hollenberg, Holton, Kansas City, Lindsborg, Manhattan, Olathe, Overland Park, Rolla, Salina, Seneca, Shawnee, Spring Hill, St. George, Topeka, Wamego, Weskan and Wichita, Kansas; Algonquin, Illinois; Wentzville, Missouri; and Lincoln and Omaha, Nebraska.