1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Senior leadership honorary Blue Key selects members for next academic year

Tuesday, March 31, 2020


MANHATTAN — Seventeen Kansas State University students are receiving a premier leadership opportunity with their selection as members of Blue Key for the 2020-2021 school year.

Membership eligibility in Blue Key Honor Society is based on all-around leadership in student life, high scholastic achievement and service to others. Blue Key recognizes upperclassmen at colleges and universities throughout the nation for an exemplary and balanced record of achievement inside and outside the classroom. At K-State, membership is reserved for students with senior standing.

Throughout their year as Blue Key members, the seniors will have the opportunity to lead a variety of programs, including Quest Freshman Honorary, Catalyst: A Self-Development Program, and the DiscoverU Conference for high school students. Members also will have the opportunity to facilitate YouLead Workshops to various organizations and groups, award Blue Key endowed scholarships to K-State students, and organize a Leadership Appreciation Reception for student leaders across campus. More information on Blue Key programming is available at k-state.edu/bluekey.

The following students, all who will be seniors in the 2020-2021 school year, are new members of Blue Key; included are major and hometown:

Riley Sleichter, agribusiness, Abilene; Ronaldo Lopez, mechanical engineering, Dodge City.

From Greater Kansas City: Jack Cashman, mechanical engineering, Lenexa; Olivia Pruss, biology and Spanish, Olathe; Jaden Castinado, food science and industry, Spanish and global food systems leadership, Katie Horton, marketing and professional strategic selling, and Ali Karamali, chemical engineering and pre-law, all from Overland Park.

Tel Wittmer, secondary education, Holton; Maggie Malmberg, biology, Phillipsburg; Claire McClellan, bakery science and management, Plainville; Mikayla Deters, agribusiness, Sabetha; Nathan Bothwell, political science and communication studies, Tonganoxie; and Lauren Ailslieger, economics and international studies, and Emma Francis, biology and pre-medicine, both from Topeka.

From out of state: Jansen Penny, industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, Burlington, Colorado; and Ryan Rieger, architectural engineering, Lee's Summit, Missouri.

From out of country: Vedant D. Kulkarni management information systems and mass communication, India.


Blue Key

News tip

Abilene, Dodge City, Holton, Lenexa, Olathe, Overland Park, Phillipsburg, Plainville, Sabetha, Tonganoxie and Topeka, Kansas; Burlington, Colorado; and Lee's Summit, Missouri.

Written by

Beth Bohn