1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


College of Veterinary Medicine announces 2019 class of Early Admission Scholars

Friday, Nov. 1, 2019

Early Admissions Scholars

The Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine's 2019 Early Admissions Scholars. Front row, from left: Regan Kerr, Shawna Kirk, Elayna Anderson, Kortnee VanDonge, Grace Gregg, Samantha LeBlanc, Ivy Schmid and Healy Funderburg; back row: Jacob Eyster, Gabriel Prater, Scotney Reichenberger, Serena Schotanus, Grace Connell, Chance Kopsa, Kaitlyn Desmond, Faith McDonald and Caleb Hildebrand. | Download this photo.


MANHATTAN — A group of Kansas State University undergraduate students will have a special opportunity to fulfill their dreams of becoming veterinarians with their selection as the College of Veterinary Medicine's 2019 class of Early Admission Scholars.

The college recognized these students on their selection in its Early Admission Program at a ceremony Oct. 25 in Trotter Hall. Established in 1999, the Early Admission Scholars program recruits the best and brightest undergraduate students who are committed to studying veterinary medicine.

"The young men and women inducted into the Veterinary Scholars Early Admission Program represent the top 5% of Kansas State University students academically," said Callie Rost, College of Veterinary Medicine assistant dean for admissions. "Being selected for this program once they meet academic and experiential requirements guarantees them a position in the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program. Early Admission students must complete semester, yearly and programmatic requirements before entering the DVM program. The K-State College of Veterinary Medicine is elated to welcome the new class of Veterinary Scholars."

The following students, all animal sciences and industry majors, most in the pre-veterinary medicine or bioscience/biotechnology track, are members of the 2019 class of Early Admission Scholars are:

Gabriel Prater, Abilene; Chance Kopsa, Beloit; Samantha LeBlanc, Bucyrus; Kortnee VanDonge, Holton; Jacob Eyster, Humboldt; Regan Kerr, Overland Park; Grace Gregg, Rose Hill; Caleb Hildebrand, Stafford; Shawna Kirk, Tonganoxie; and Scotney Reichenberger, Wichita.

From out of state: Serena Schotanus, Tipton, California; Healy Funderburg, Springfield, Illinois; Kaitlyn Desmond, Damascus, Maryland; Ivy Schmid, Bellwood, Nebraska; Grace Connell, Friendswood, Texas; Faith McDonald, Frisco, Texas; and Elayna Anderson, Wichita Falls, Texas.

Successful candidates in the Early Admission Scholars program must maintain a 3.3 grade point average during completion of the science prerequisites and complete the 64 hours of prerequisites by the end of the spring semester prior to beginning the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine curriculum in the fall, and submit graduate record examination scores. The science courses on the prerequisite list must be completed at K-State. In addition, candidates must strengthen their veterinary experiences, attend K-State events and participate in volunteer work.

The College of Veterinary Medicine assigns a veterinary student mentor to each Early Admissions Scholar to stimulate career and academic development and to provide orientation and access to college activities. The pre-veterinary students attend regular meetings during the academic year to develop a sense of community and share their progress.

"The timeline for applying has changed this year," Rost said. "Current high school seniors interested in applying for the Early Admission Program can apply now until Feb. 1, 2020. Interviews will take place soon after and decisions will be communicated by March 2020."

Information on how to apply for the program, including a link to a PDF on program requirements, is available at vet.k-state.edu/admissions/early-admit/index.html.


Callie Rost

News tip

Abilene, Beloit, Bucyrus, Holton, Humboldt, Overland Park, Rose Hill, Stafford, Tonganoxie and Wichita, Kansas; Tipton, California; Springfield, Illinois; Damascus, Maryland; Bellwood, Nebraska; and Friendswood, Frisco and Wichita Falls, Texas.


Early Admission Scholars program

Written by

Joe Montgomery