1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »College of Human Ecology recognizes outstanding seniors

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


College of Human Ecology recognizes outstanding seniors

Thursday, May 16, 2019


MANHATTAN — The College of Human Ecology is recognizing its 2019 outstanding senior award winners. The students, all May or August 2019 bachelor's candidates, were nominated by faculty and staff in each of their respective programs.

Awards were presented in three categories. The Engagement Award is given to graduating seniors who has made exemplary contributions that impact the well-being of the community or individuals in the community. The Leadership Award is given to graduating seniors who has exhibited excellence in leadership; recognized for their contributions to the campus, college, program and professional organizations. The Research/Creative Activity Award is given to graduating seniors whose research or creative activity has made a significant contribution to his or her field of study.

The following students are recipients of an outstanding senior award from the college:

From Greater Kansas City: Alex Vonderschmidt, dietetics, Gardner, Research/Creative Activity Award; Sandy Her, apparel and textiles, Kansas City, Leadership Award; Abigail Pope, personal financial planning, Leawood, Engagement Award; Emma Deatherage, communication sciences and disorders, Research/Creative Activity Award, Meghan Dyster, human development and family science, Leadership Award, and Angela Leek, interior design, Leadership Award, all from Olathe; McLain Hymer, human development and family science, Overland Park, Research/Creative Activity Award; and Alex Barney, communication sciences and disorders, Leadership Award, and Lindsey Hamner, human development and family science, Engagement Award, both from Shawnee.

McKenzie Zimmermann, human development and family science, Junction City, Research/Creative Activity Award; Christina Wiley, human development and family science, Leavenworth, Engagement Award; Josh Payne, personal financial planning, Lyndon, Research/Creative Activity Award; Megan Ochoa, nutrition and health, Leadership Award, and Makenzie Keen, dietetics, Leadership Award, both from Manhattan; Aidan Murray, kinesiology, Salina, Research/Creative Activity Award; Tara Bledsoe, communication sciences and disorders, Silver Lake, Engagement Award; Macy Burke, nutrition and health, Spring Hill, Research/Creative Activity Award; Dakota Nelson, hospitality management, St. George, Research/Creative Activity Award; Nicholas Bouzianis, nutritional sciences, Tecumseh, Leadership Award; Samantha White, apparel and textiles, Tonganoxie, Research/Creative Activity Award; Cody Filbert, hospitality management, Wamego, Leadership Award; Nathaniel Faflick, human development and family science, Wichita, Leadership Award; Lauren Reyes, hospitality management, Wellington, Engagement Award; and Shayna Karmann, kinesiology, Yates Center, Leadership Award.

From out of state: Melissa Motta, nutrition and health, Martinez, California, Engagement Award; Matthew Burnett, nutritional sciences, Denver, Colorado, Engagement Award; Jack Giardino, personal financial planning, Washington, Iowa, Leadership Award; Heather Lipps, kinesiology, Portland, Maine, Engagement Award; McKenna Parker, nutritional sciences, Blue Springs, Missouri, Leadership Award; and Catherine Brown, dietetics, Lake Umbagog, New Hampshire, Engagement Award.

The students will receive their awards at the annual Graduation Honors and Student Awards celebration on Friday, May 17, in the K-State Student Union.


College of Human Ecology

News tip

Gardner, Junction City, Kansas City, Leavenworth, Leawood, Lyndon, Manhattan, Olathe, Salina, Shawnee, Silver Lake, Spring Hill, St. George, Tecumseh, Tonganoxie, Wamego, Wellington, Wichita and Yates Center, Kansas; Martinez, California; Denver, Colorado; Washington, Iowa; Portland, Maine; Blue Springs, Missouri; and Lake Umbagog, New Hampshire.


College of Human Ecology