1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »College of Education honors new graduates for scholarship, leadership and potential

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


College of Education honors new graduates for scholarship, leadership and potential

Tuesday, Dec. 18, 2018


MANHATTAN — Kansas State University's College of Education is recognizing nine new graduates for excellence in leadership, academics and potential.

Earning the college's Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award for outstanding leadership and scholarship are five students, while two students are receiving the Outstanding Future Teacher Award for their potential as future teachers. In addition, two students are recipients of the Kansas State Department of Education Teacher of Promise Award.

The award winners are all December 2018 bachelor's graduates from the college: 

• Alyson Daniels, elementary education, Gardner, Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award. Daniels was a member of Phi Kappa Phi academic honor society and the Kansas Reading Association. She also served as manager of the K-State women's basketball team for four years. She was a recipient of the Foundation Scholarship, K-State Alumni Association Scholarship and the Karen Broddle Memorial Scholarship in Elementary Education. In addition, she was a nominee for the university's Student Employee of the Year. She has been involved with the Special Olympics, a volunteer for the Flint Hills Breadbasket and coordinated school outreach and basketball camps at Fort Riley. Daniels is the daughter of Mike and Jenny Daniels. 

Abigail Webb, elementary education, Hutchinson, Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award. Webb was a member of the College of Education Ambassadors, served as a counselor with the college's Grand Parents University and a teacher with Project Excel, and was the speakers co-chair of the college's Education Symposium Committee. A member of Alpha Gamma Delta sorority, she served as vice president of membership development. Webb also played Harriet in the Kansas Theatre production of "Boy Gets Girl." Webb is married to Kenneth Webb and is the daughter of Diann Chastain. 

• Allicia Hall, elementary education, Iuka, Outstanding Future Teacher in Elementary Education Award. Hall was a member of Kappa Delta Pi, the education honorary; Phi Theta Kappa, the transfer student honorary; and the Kansas National Education Association. She was the recipient of the Phi Theta Kappa transfer scholarship, Elvon and Lydia Skeen Scholarship, and the Michael and Gloria Konold Scholarship. She is the daughter of Robert and Leigh Ann Hall, Iuka. 

• Hadley Mikkelson, secondary education-English, Lansing, Outstanding Future Teacher in Secondary Education Award. Mikkelson is the daughter of Dean and Linda Mikkelson, Lansing. 

• Amy Matlick, secondary education-social studies, Maize, Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award. Matlick was a member of the College of Education Ambassadors and the Housing and Dining Services Ambassadors, initiation chair of Kappa Delta Pi education honorary, environmental chair of the Executive Hall Governing Board and assistant to the external public relations chair of the All-University Open House core committee. She is the recipient of the Elvon and Lydia Skeen Scholarship, Edwin Lee Holton Scholarship, Judith Cain Scholarship and College of Education Scholarship. Matlick is the daughter of Mitchell and Karen Matlick, Maize. 

• Marshall Adams, secondary education-earth science, Manhattan, Kansas State Department of Education Secondary Education Teacher of Promise Award. He is married to Keturah Adams and is the son of Steven and Patricia Adams, Manhattan. 

• Jordan Boswell, secondary education-physical education, Onaga, Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award. Boswell is a member of the Kansas Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. She is an active volunteer who helped organize, manage and supervise a youth football camp, as well as organize and manage a golf tournament for Onaga High School football alumni. She was involved with the USD 322 Community Service Day, served as an assistant coach to the Onaga High School volleyball team, and was a referee and line judge for Onaga Junior High volleyball. She also organized and managed a fundraiser for breast cancer awareness, selling T-shirts and donating proceeds to the local Relay for Life. Boswell has been a substitute teacher, healthy choices coordinator for the Kansas Reading Road Map after-school program, and a paraeducator for grades 9-12. She is the daughter of Craig Boswell and Mark and Sheila Krohn. 

• Madison Plouvier, secondary education-speech, Shawnee, Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award. Plouvier, who also earned a bachelor's degree in theatre, was active in the university's theatre program and served as a member and social media chair of the Kansas State Theatre Organization. She is the recipient of several Eric Stonestreet scholarships, the Arex G. Ehrsam Scholarship and the Arts and Sciences Excellence Scholarship. She served as an assistant director of theatrical productions at Manhattan High School and was a volunteer with drama therapy programs at Manhattan elementary schools. She also is a member of Gamma Phi Beta sorority. Plouvier is the daughter of Rocky and Linda Plouvier. 

• Rebecca Lynn Hunt, elementary education, Bennington, Nebraska, Kansas Department of Education Elementary Education Teacher of Promise Award. A member of Kappa Delta Pi education honorary, Hunt also took part in the University Honors Program and was a student representative on the College of Education Dean's Executive Committee. She was a Children's Church teacher and an education team member for First Christian Church. Hunt is the daughter of Nathan and Brandi Hunt, Junction City.


College of Education

News tip

Gardner, Hutchinson, Iuka, Lansing, Maize, Manhattan, Onaga and Shawnee, Kansas; and Bennington, Nebraska.