1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Alpha Sigma Lambda nontraditional honor society inducts new members

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Alpha Sigma Lambda nontraditional honor society inducts new members

Monday, June 18, 2018


MANHATTAN – Kansas State University inducted 38 students into the university's chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda for 2018.

The national honor society was founded in 1945 and recognizes adult students who achieve and maintain high scholastic standards. It is the oldest and largest chapter-based honor society for full- and part-time undergraduate adult students.

New members were inducted at the Kansas State University Global Campus Honors and Awards Reception April 25.

"Nontraditional students often face additional challenges than the average college student, balancing career, family and community obligations," said Rebecca Dale, academic advisor and student services coordinator at Kansas State University Global Campus. "This year’s inductees have demonstrated an inspiring commitment to learning and have achieved at the highest levels academically.”

To be eligible to join Kansas State University's Omega Xi chapter of Alpha Sigma Lambda, nontraditional students must be currently enrolled with a minimum of 24 credit hours completed toward an undergraduate degree program at the university and have a cumulative K-State GPA of 3.2 or higher.

The 2018 inductees include:

Lisa Turnbull, senior in family and consumer science education, Abilene; Hallie Alaniz, senior in social science, Alma; Alexandra Holmes, senior in family studies and human services, Blue Rapids; Carolyn Schreiner, senior in social work, Edwardsville; Amanda McCormick, senior in animal science, Fredonia; Martin Cox, senior in social work, and Herlinda Rios, senior in technology management, both from Junction City; Lauren Keller, senior in dietetics, Lawrence; and Cailin Chapman, senior in dietetics, Louisburg.

From Manhattan: Marcel Braun, senior in civil engineering; Lindsey Clemage, senior in food science and industry; Gabriel Dick, sophomore in computer science; Samuel Kempf, junior in anthropology; Jordan Knight, junior in general business; Sarah May, senior in information systems; Scott Millar, senior in family studies and human services; and Francis Rodrigo, senior in social work.

Toni Yaussi, senior in general business, Marysville; Michelle Riggs, senior in dietetics, Mulvane; Kenna Elder, junior in human development and family science, and Alesha Kuechler, senior in general business, both from Olathe; Jordan Cooper, senior in social science, Topeka; and Nicole Aronhalt, senior in psychology, Wakefield.

From out-of-state:

Michael Adame, senior in agricultural education, Fallbrook, California; Robert Souder, senior in dietetics, Highlands Ranch, Colorado; Carolina Schaffer, senior in food science and industry, Pompano Beach, Florida; Jillian O’Malley, senior in human development and family science, Bettendorf, Iowa; Lynnea Slette, senior in dietetics, Farmington, Minnesota; Rita Hebblethwaite, senior in dietetics, Jackson, Mississippi; Heidi Lohmann-Schrader, senior in dietetics, Independence, Missouri; Tanya Allen, senior in sociology, Smithville, Missouri; Natalie Turner, senior in anthropology, Watertown, New York; Paolina Mulleneix, senior in dietetics, Klamath Falls, Oregon; Julie Henderson, junior in dietetics, Universal City, Texas; Brittany Trinidad, senior in general business, Seaford, Virginia; Heather Wooden, senior in dietetics, Virginia Beach, Virginia; and Laura Cowan, senior in dietetics, Washington D.C.


Rebecca Dale


Alpha Sigma Lambda

News tip

Abilene, Alma, Blue Rapids, Edwardsville, Fredonia, Junction City, Lawrence, Louisburg, Manhattan, Marysville, Mulvane, Olathe, Topeka and Wakefield, Kansas; Fallbrook, California; Highlands Ranch, Colorado; Pompano Beach, Florida; Bettendorf, Iowa; Farmington, Minnesota; Jackson, Mississippi; Independence and Smithville, Missouri; Watertown, New York; Klamath Falls, Oregon; Universal City, Texas; Seaford and Virginia Beach, Virginia; and Washington D.C.

Written by

Grant Guggisberg