1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship to four high school seniors

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship to four high school seniors

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Kansas State University's 2018-2019 Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship recipients and finalists.

Kansas State University's2018-2019 Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship recipients and finalists. Front row, from left: Jackson Willis, Daijah Jones and Merida Acosta. Back row, from left: Dallas Rice, Javen Kennedy and Parker Ramirez. Not pictured is Maya Lee. | Download this photo.


MANHATTAN — Four high school students are recipients of Kansas State University's Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship, which recognizes outstanding high school seniors who have made contributions to the urban communities in which they live.

The following students are receiving the $5,000 scholarship for the 2018-2019 school year:

Daijah Jones, a senior at Piper High School, Kansas City; Merida Acosta, a senior at Shawnee Mission South High School, Overland Park; and Javen Kennedy, a senior at Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic High School, Wichita.

From out of state: Dallas Rice, a senior at Paseo Academy, Kansas City, Missouri.

The university received 151 applications for the scholarship, and a selection committee chose seven finalists to interview. Finalists participated in an on-campus interview and recognition day. Scholarships are renewable for up to three years with a 3.25 Kansas State University GPA. All finalists also will participate in undergraduate research through the university's Developing Scholars Program.

Finalists for the scholarship included Maya Lee, a senior at Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Lenexa; Jackson Willis, a senior at Tonganoxie High School, Tonganoxie; and Parker Ramirez, a senior at Hayden High School, Topeka.

This scholarship is made possible by the Edgerley and Franklin families who continuously demonstrate leadership and support of service to individuals from urban areas. It was created in memory of Bernard Franklin’s wife, Elsia, who was committed to helping better the lives of young girls in urban Alabama.

The Edgerleys have been longtime supporters of Kansas State University, contributing to a number of scholarships, funds and faculty chairs in the past 12 years, including the Paul B. and Sandra M. Edgerley Business Administration Scholarship, the Paul B. Edgerley Chair in Business Administration, the Robert M. Edgerley Chair in International Business; the Edgerley Family Dean in the College of Business Administration; and the President Wefald Leadership Chair in the College of Business Administration.


Courtney Hallenbeck


Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship