1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Silver Key names new members for 2017-2018 school year

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Silver Key names new members for 2017-2018 school year

Tuesday, March 28, 2017


MANHATTAN — Kansas State University's Silver Key, a sophomore leadership honor society that emphasizes community service, has selected 40 new members for the 2017-2018 academic year.

To be eligible for Silver Key, students must have at least a 3.0 grade point average, be a 2016 high school graduate and in their freshman year at the university.

Silver Key provides service to the campus and the surrounding Manhattan community. Members organize and participate in a variety of community service projects each semester. Past projects have included hosting children from the Boys and Girls Club at a K-State men's basketball game, Sleep Out for the Homeless fundraiser benefiting the Manhattan Emergency Shelter, highway and neighborhood cleanup efforts, and Sunday afternoon visits to Stoneybrook, a senior living community in Manhattan.

The following students are members of Silver Key for 2017-2018; included are majors and hometowns:

Carter Fritze, engineering, Andover; Lanessa Aurand, business administration, Belleville; Cameron Parr, finance, Benton; Mariah Larson, elementary education, Clay Center; Margaret Roth, agribusiness, and Baily Smith, dietetics, both from Garden City; Maci Rockers, food science, Garnett; Faith Tuttle, political science, Gove; and Quinton Elliott, biology and pre-medicine, Great Bend.

From Greater Kansas City: Jenna Goetzmann, business management and human resources, and Taylor Stewart, political science, both from Gardner; Sahiba Grover, biochemistry, and Margaret Loughman, apparel and textiles marketing, both from Lenexa; Gabrielle Kohnle, kinesiology, and Mikayla Murphy, kinesiology and pre-nursing, both from Olathe; Emery Braun, kinesiology and Spanish, and Samuel Pittman, political science, both from Overland Park.

Annaka Applequist, kinesiology, Hays; Whitney Gutsch, engineering, Herington; Bryn Swearingen, agribusiness, Hiawatha; Clara Wicoff, agricultural economics, Iola; Elizabeth Patton, pre-law, Lawrence; Mark Buckwalter, accounting and finance, and Josiah Satzler, mechanical engineering, both from Manhattan; Taylor Nikkel, agricultural economics, Maple Hill; Natalie May, entrepreneurship and apparel marketing, and Jordan Pulliam, secondary education, both from Mulvane; Hannah Caswell, music education, Salina; Grant Hilliard, computer engineering, Sedgwick; Trenton Smedley, agribusiness, Thayer.

From Wichita: Vanessa Kehr, advertising and marketing; Madelyn Mash, biology and pre-medicine; and Joseph "Joey" Medina, computer science.

Ashley Pringle, communication sciences and disorders, Yates Center.

From out-of-state:

Hannah Markel, psychology and journalism, Rogers, Arkansas; Delaney Keeler, animal sciences and industry, and biotechnology, Colorado Springs, Colorado; Mary Carr, marketing, Hampshire, Illinois; Kayla Lessenden, architectural engineering, Blue Springs, Missouri; DeAnna Scheffler, open option, Tulsa, Oklahoma; and Sierra Marstall, public relations, Murphy, Texas.


Kathryn Harth

News tip

Andover, Belleville, Benton, Clay Center, Garden City, Gardner, Garnett, Gove, Great Bend, Hays, Herington, Hiawatha, Iola, Lawrence, Lenexa, Manhattan, Maple Hill, Mulvane, Olathe, Overland Park, Salina, Sedgwick, Thayer, Wichita and Yates Center, Kansas; Rogers, Arkansas; Colorado Springs, Colorado; Blue Springs, Missouri; Tulsa, Oklahoma; and Murphy, Texas.

At a glance

Kansas State University's Silver Key has selected 40 new members for the 2017-2018 academic year.