March 1, 2012



Volunteer to get involved in Open House

By Brenna Ford

Volunteer to Expand Your (social) Network at K-State Open House and to show off your purple pride. The university's largest annual event attracts more than 20,000 people. Open House showcases more than 250 majors and options, 475-plus organizations and everything K-State has to offer. This year, the K-State Open House will be Saturday, April 21. Open House on the Manhattan campus will run from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. On the Salina campus, Open House will run from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Learn more about Open House events at: k-state.edu/openhouse.

Open House is primarily student-driven and student-led. More than 1,000 K-Staters work at exhibit tables, organize entertainment options, guide visitors around campus, help with set-up and clean-up and more. Most students volunteer for a few hours and later visit exhibits with family and friends.

Volunteer now! If you’re not involved in Open House already, you still can be. Try one of these four options:

1. Contact your department to get involved with your major. See the list of departments at http://www.k-state.edu/directories/academic.html.

2. E-mail your college’s student exhibit coordinator to get involved at the college level:

• Agriculture: Alyson McCall (ammcall@k-state.edu)

• Architecture, Planning and Design: Emily Vietti (vietti@k-state.edu)

• Arts and sciences: Javier Lopez (javlopez@k-state.edu) and John Nail (jnail@k-state.edu)

• Business: Carly Pierce (cpierce@k-state.edu) and David Glenski (dglenski@k-state.edu)

• Education: Chris Huggard (chuggard@k-state.edu) and Amanda Morales (morales@k-state.edu)

• Engineering: Brett Fearing (bfear@k-state.edu) and Mark Prieb (prieb@k-state.edu)

• Human Ecology: Danielle Huskey (dani123@k-state.edu) and Lauren Nutt (lnutt@k-state.edu)

• Leadership Studies: Meredith Muller (mer20@k-state.edu) and Courtney Frantz (cfrantz@k-state.edu)

• Veterinary Medicine: Jenna Streit (streitjr@k-state.edu) and Carson Abrams (clabrams@k-state.edu)

3. Students on the Salina campus should contact Heather Wagoner (hwagoner@k-state.edu).

4. E-mail the Open House core committee to get involved on the campus level:

• Adrienne Besler, student coordinator, abesler9@k-state.edu

• Kyle Reynolds, special events chair, reynolk@k-state.edu

All students are welcome and encouraged to volunteer at All-University Open House!