October 9, 2013

Quest Freshman Honorary selects 36 new members

By Tyler Johnson

The new members of Kansas State University's freshman honorary, Quest, have been selected for the 2013-2014 academic year.

Quest is dedicated to the promotion and development of leadership and service skills among freshmen students. Each Quest member is paired with a member of Blue Key, a senior leadership honorary, to ensure mentorship, success and exposure to leadership experiences throughout their first year at K-State.

Members are given the opportunity to explore K-State's various programs, including athletics, campus government and the arts. Through these experiences they also receive the opportunity to network with many of K-State's top student and university leaders.

Students are selected for membership in the fall semester of their freshman year based on a competitive application and interview process. Demonstration of leadership and service in high school are important selection factors for Quest membership.

The 2013-2014 Quest members, all first-year students at K-State, are:

Elizabeth Allen, agribusiness, Holton; Beth Augustine, agricultural education, Ellis; Joshua Austin, chemistry, Dodge City; Emma Barnett, political science and international studies, Hutchinson; Lindy Bilberry, agribusiness, Garden City; Ellen Bodine, communication sciences and disorders, Shawnee; Carrie Carlson, bakery science, Lincolnville; Chanel Coyne, communication sciences and disorders, Iola; Katy Fernandes, international business, Flower Mound, Texas; Taylor Fry, business administration, hotel and restaurant management, Great Bend; Luke Garrison, chemical engineering, Topeka; Katie Gehrt, political science, De Soto; Hunter Harrison, business administration, Great Bend; JoLynn Hennerberg, biological and agricultural engineering, Hollenberg; Keeli Hostetler, public relations, Kiowa; Patrick Kennedy, finance, Paola; Caden Laptad, mathematics, Olathe; Sierra Lekie, political science, economics, Lenexa; Zach May, computer engineering, Oberlin; Morgan Mobley, broadcast journalism, Overland Park; Sarah Newell, industrial engineering, Stilwell; Tyler O’Briant, chemical engineering, Tonganoxie; Connor Philgreen, human nutrition, Bucyrus; Anna Plum, kinesiology, Olathe; Hunter Post, biology, Beloit; Wyatt Pracht, agricultural economics, agronomy, Westphalia; Abigail Reese, architecture, Springfield, Missouri; Jordan Reinhardt, family studies and human services, Overland Park; Melanie Riordan, apparel and textiles, Norwalk, Iowa; Anna Schneeberger, secondary English education, Fort Collins, Colorado; Rebekah Shirley, nutrition and kinesiology, Dodge City; Renae Tokach, animal science, St. Anthony, N.D.; Noah Trapp, microbiology, Ellsworth; Katie VanDever, communication studies, Augusta; Caitlyn Webb, international business, Manhattan; and Chris White, architectural engineering, El Dorado.