1. K-State home
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Transfer student group recognizes three honorary members for 2012-13

K-State Today

May 13, 2013

Transfer student group recognizes three honorary members for 2012-13

By Deana R. Core

The Kansas State University Transfer Ambassador Program, or TAP, honored three special professors and staff on Thursday, May 2, at JP’s Sports Grill for their dedication and commitment to transfer students.

Kent Kirby, assistant director of undergraduate affairs in biology; Alice Niedfeldt, administrative specialist for the College of Business Administration; and Sharon Thielen, assistant dean of academic programs for the College of Agriculture, were invited to the club’s first spring banquet and presented with honorary memberships to the program.

Transfer Ambassador Program members and advisors selected these individuals based on their involvement with transfer student recruitment, campus visits, understanding of transfer student need, and overall willingness to go above and beyond for transfer students.

Transfer coordinators Bill Disberger and Deana Core in undergraduate admissions advise the only student group at K-State dedicated to the needs of transfer students, who make up approximately 35 percent of new K-State students each year. All transfer students, including former Phi Theta Kappa members from two-year institutions, are invited to participate.

Information about the Transfer Ambassador Program can be found at online.