1. K-State home
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Search committee for College of Agriculture dean/director of K-State Research and...

K-State Today

September 27, 2011

Search committee for College of Agriculture dean/director of K-State Research and Extension announced

By April Mason

April Mason, provost and senior vice president, has appointed the search committee for the national search to find the next dean of the College of Agriculture and director of K-State Research and Extension.

Mike Holen, dean of the College of Education, will chair the search committee. Mason will deliver the charge to the group this week and outlining her expectations and the search process timeline. The university has engaged the services of Baker and Associates, a recruitment firm, and will be working closely with Martin Baker throughout the search process. The anticipated start date for the new dean/director is July 1, 2012.

Search committee members are:

Mike Holen, dean of the College of Education and search committee chair
Frank Blecha, associate dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine and university distinguished professor of immunophysiology
Dan Devlin, director of the Kansas Center for Agricultural Resources and the Environment and professor of agronomy
Elaine Edwards, news media coordinator for the department of communications
Jason Griffin, director of the John C. Pair Horticultural Center in Wichita
Emily Lehning, assistant vice president for student life
Steve Logback, assistant vice president and director of communications for the K-State Alumni Association
Charlotte Olsen, professor in the School of Family Studies and Human Services
Mark Ploger, county extension agent in agriculture for the Southwest section
Chuck Rice, university distinguished professor of agronomy
Leah Robinson, district extension agent in family and consumer sciences in the Central Kansas District
David Rock, chairman of the dean's advisory council representative
Kim Schirer, College of Agriculture director of development for the K-State Foundation
Lois Schreiner, classified employee representative from the department of animal sciences and industry
Barbara Stone, professor and head of 4-H Youth Development
Susan Sun, university distinguished professor of grain science and industry
Mike Tokach, professor of animal sciences and industry
Glynn Tonsor, assistant professor of agricultural economics
Angela Tran, graduate student representative
Stuart Warren, professor and department head of horticulture, forestry & recreation resources
Anna Whitfield, associate professor of plant pathology
Fran Willbrant, assistant vice president of financial services
Caleb Wurth, undergraduate student representative and junior in milling science and management