Sigma Xi was founded in 1886 to honor excellence in scientific investigation and encourage a sense of companionship and cooperation among researchers in all fields of science and engineering. The Greek letters "sigma" and "xi" form the acronym of the Society's motto, "Spoudon Xynones," which translates as "Companions in Zealous Research."


Kansas State University Chapter of Sigma Xi


For information on membership and nominations go to the national website. To download application forms click here.

Current Officers

Presidentt : Carolyn Ferguson

President-Elect: Doug Jardine

Past President : Keith Miller

Secretary : Loretta Johnson

Treasurer : Dan Higgins

Exec Committee Mbr : Matt Brueseke

Exec Committee Mbr : Kenneth Klabunde

Committee Chairs

Membership/Admissions : Loretta Johnson

Outstanding KSU Scientist Award:  TBA

KSU Chapter Graduate Student Grant-in-Aid Award : Carolyn Ferguson

Oustanding Secondary Science Teacher Award : Keith Miller

Chapter Activities

Manhattan Science Cafe

Annual Sigma Xi Awards Banquet

Chapter Awards

Graduate Research Form Award

Sigma Xi Chapter Graduate Student Grant-in-Aid Award

Outstanding KSU Scientist Award

Secondary School Science Teaching Award

Sigma Xi National Meeting