Orientation for New Department Heads Schedule for 2013-2014

All sessions will be on Mondays from 3:30-5:00 p.m.

Monday, September 9 - Union 205

Welcome: Provost April Mason

Monday, September 16 - Waters 137

Basics Info & Important Policies: DH Resource Page (Brad Kramer) & University Handbook (Susanna Valdovinos)

Monday, September 23 - Waters 137

Faculty Recruitment: Affirmative Action (Roberta Maldonado-Franzen), Dual Career (Ruth Dyer), International Student and Scholar Services (Maria Beebe)

Monday, September 30 - Waters 137 

Assistance with Students: Student Life (Heather Reed), Counseling (Dorinda Lambert), Student Access Center (Andrea Blair), International Student Services (Stacey Bailey/Yasir Ansari)

Monday, October 7 - Waters 137

Conflict in Academia: Faculty Disputes (Susana Valdovinos, Rusty Andrews)

Monday, October 14 - Union 205

Legal Issues: University General Counsel Office

Monday, October 21 - Waters 137

Data Reports and Requests: Planning & Analysis (Kelli Cox), Human Resources (Jennifer Gehrt), Budget Office (Cindy Bontrager)

Monday, October 28 - Waters 137

Teaching & Learning Resources: Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning (Jana Fallin), Office of Assessment (Fred Burrack), Honor & Integrity System (Steve Starrett), Adriana Gonzalez, Head of Faculty and Graduate Services, Hale Library

Monday, November 4 - Waters 137 

Evaluating Faculty & Merit Increase (Susana Valdovinos)

Monday, November 11 - Waters 137

Nov 11 - KSU Foundation (Fred Cholick) and Leadership (TBD)