1. K-State home
  2. »AMI
  3. »News
  4. »Articles
  5. »2008

Advanced Manufacturing Institute

Advanced Manufacturing Institute Selects Spring Interns

(Manhattan, Kan. January 22, 2008) – The Advanced Manufacturing Institute at Kansas State University has selected 30 students to serve as interns during the spring 2008 semester.

Through the institute's internship program, students have an opportunity to gain invaluable experience working with a team of experts in their field, actively engaging in company projects and interacting with clients.

During his time as an intern at the Advanced Manufacturing Institute, Matt Campbell, a graduate student in mechanical engineering, Overland Park, has worked with several clients, including helping John Deere in developing its Nevergrease Pin Joints.

"The knowledge I gained from this project was excellent," said Campbell, a two-year intern. "The opportunity to work directly with highly experienced engineers and other students cannot be found anywhere else."

The John Deere project, along with others Campbell worked on with the Advanced Manufacturing Institute's design verification team, even inspired him to focus his career in this area.

"The experience I have gained at the Advanced Manufacturing Institute is hard to match," he said. "The clients I have worked with are all interested in hiring the institute's interns because they see the value of the program and realize it is a great place to look for young, quality, experienced employees."

Spring interns at the Advanced Manufacturing Institute also include:

Brandon Hagman, graduate student in business administration, and Erin Hudson, junior in hotel and restaurant management, both of Buhler; Renee Austin, senior in marketing, Cimarron; Tyler Jelinek, senior in mechanical engineering, Danville; Robert Debes, junior in mechanical engineering, Dodge City.

From Greater Kansas City: Ezra Godfrey, senior in computer engineering, Kansas City, Kan.; Kyle Gach, senior in mechanical engineering, Kansas City, Mo.; and Kyle Warren, senior in mechanical engineering, Lenexa.

Alyssa Williams, senior in graphic design, Harper; Dustin Jost, senior in mechanical engineering, Hillsboro; Mike Hanson, senior in chemical engineering, Liberal; Brandon Blawusch, graduate student in accounting, Louisburg; Connor Griffith, senior in electrical engineering, Lyndon.

From Manhattan: Kelly Chang, graduate student in business administration; Dean Herl, graduate student in engineering management; Aaron Lindh, senior in mechanical engineering; Mark Miller, senior in mechanical engineering; Gabe Thompson, senior in electrical engineering; and Ashok Reddy Varikuti, graduate student in computer science.

Sean Cillessen, senior in mechanical engineering, Mulvane; Randy Golding, senior in mechanical engineering, Nickerson; Aaron Kaufmann, senior in biological and agricultural engineering, Oakley; Dana Sigle, senior in management, Osborne; Tyge Hess, senior in mechanical engineering, Scott City; Kristen Seiwert, senior in public relations, Wichita.

From out of state: Caleb Kehoe, senior in mechanical engineering, Harrisonville, Mo.; Christopher Linnick, junior in nuclear engineering, Lee's Summit, Mo.; Brian Long, graduate student in business administration, Albuquerque, N.M.; and Amy Jackson, senior in elementary education, Houston, Texas.