1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »College of Education recognizes outstanding students, future teachers

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


K-State College of Education recognizes outstanding students, future teachers 

Tuesday, Dec. 5, 2023

MANHATTAN — Kansas State University's College of Education is recognizing eight undergraduate and graduate students for excellence in and out of the classroom.

The students will be recognized at the college’s commencement ceremony at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Dec. 9, in Bramlage Coliseum.

The Outstanding Future Teacher Award recognizes two outstanding future teachers who demonstrate excellence during their professional clinical experiences as supported and documented by their cooperating teachers, university supervisors and clinical instructors. The fall 2023 recipients are Olivia Kennedy, elementary education, Frankfort, and Alex Como, art education, Leawood.

The Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award recognizes students whose scholarship and leadership left an indelible mark on their college, campus and community activities. Students recognized are Syrah Caughron, elementary education, Derby; Kindel Nordhus, secondary English education, Wichita; and Kendalyn Furukawa, elementary education, St. Louis, Missouri.

The Outstanding Graduate Student in Education Award is doctoral candidate Billie Streufert, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, counseling and student development with an emphasis on leadership in academic advising. Streufert is recognized for scholarly excellence and outstanding service.

The Kansas State Department of Education recognizes two Teachers of Promise from each teacher preparation program in the state. The Kansas State University students receiving this honor are Hannah Hobert, elementary education, Westwood Hills, and Katie Whittley, Gardner, secondary math education.

Media contact

Division of Communications and Marketing


College of Education

News tip

Derby, Frankfort, Gardner, Leawood, Westwood Hill and Wichita, Kansas; Sioux Falls, South Dakota and St. Louis, Missouri.

Written by

Patrice Scott