1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »College of Business selects 2022-23 Menard family scholars

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


College of Business selects 2022-23 Menard family scholars

Thursday, Sept. 22, 2022



MANHATTAN — The Kansas State University College of Business Administration has selected its third cohort of the Menard Family Scholars Program. The program provides a premier business leadership experience for high-achieving incoming freshmen.

Offered by the college's Center for Principled Business, the Menard Family Scholars Program engages freshmen business students in a yearlong program designed to foster leadership development, ethical decision-making and innovative thinking while gaining technical knowledge and skills through rigorous coursework. Through industry learning trips, alumni connections, one-on-one mentoring and other exclusive experiences, students explore college leadership opportunities and career pathways in the business sector.

Students work with top faculty members as they transition to college life and benefit from early access to the College of Business Career Development Program, specialized advising and career shadowing experiences. Students will gain personal, professional and career skills while building a peer and professional network with high-achieving individuals.

"We are so thankful for the Menard family's generous support of this program," said Kevin Gwinner, Edgerley family dean of the College of Business Administration. "That support will provide these students with an incredible opportunity to set a tone of success that will extend long past their time in college and well into a successful career."

The following 28 freshmen business majors are the newest members of the Menard Family Scholars Program:

Joy Clemence, Abilene.

From Greater Kansas City: Cole Mauer, Leawood; Jayden Brethour and Caleb Woleben, both from Lenexa; Marie Connelly, Matt Holzmeister, Jake Holzmeister, Grace Hoskins, Sydnie Skyes and Emily Tran, all from Overland Park;Caroline Sandstrom, Prairie Village; and Brock Olson, Shawnee.

Dalton Simmer, Hiawatha; Carson Lund and Erin Rule, both from Lawrence; Jayme Wagner, Lebo; Reese Reitz, Louisburg; Colton Wallace, Mound City; Lilly Graham, Overbrook; Kyla Traub, Spring Hill; Maria Bures and Landon DiLeonardo, both from Topeka; and Margaret Benson, Gavin Strunk and Katie Zachgo, all from Wamego.

From out of state: Avery Barrows, Lee’s Summit, Missouri; andAdam Ackerman, Endicott, New York.

From out of country: Mauricio Lesme Segovia, Asunción, Paraguay.

For more information about the program, please visit cba.k-state.edu/academics/departments/center-for-principled-business/menard-family-scholars.html or contact Marcia Hornung,hornung@k-state.edu.


Marcia Hornung


Menard Family Scholars Program

News tip

Menard Family Scholars ProgramAbilene, Hiawatha, Lawrence, Leawood, Lebo, Lenexa, Louisburg, Mound City, Overbrook, Overland Park, Prairie Village, Shawnee, Spring Hill, Topeka and Wamego, Kansas; Lee’s Summit, Missouri; and Endicott, New York.