1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Thundering Cats Big Band with regional vocalists in benefit for McCain Auditorium on May 20

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Thundering Cats Big Band with regional vocalists in benefit for McCain Auditorium on May 20

Friday, May 6, 2022



MANHATTAN — The Thundering Cats Big Band, featuring regional vocalists, is coming to Kansas State University's McCain Auditorium at 7:30 p.m. Friday, May 20. Tickets are just $10, with any proceeds benefiting McCain Auditorium's education and outreach programming. Additional donations on the evening of the show will be welcome.

Tickets can be purchased at the McCain box office or by phone, 785-532-6428, from noon to 4 p.m. Wednesdays through Fridays. Tickets also may be purchased anytime online at mccain.k-state.edu.

The Thundering Cats Big Band was founded in Manhattan in 2009. Its members consist of local musicians from all walks of life. The band performs each fall and spring for community events and supports efforts such as McCain Auditorium's educational and outreach program. This concert provides the opportunity for community members to sing with the big band on the McCain stage. The musicians in the band enjoy sharing this opportunity as a way of keeping big band music alive with the region's music lovers.

Members of the band include Frederick Burrack, director and piano; James Guffey, saxophone; Mark Northup, saxophone; Craig Weston, saxophone; Seth Galitzer, saxophone; Tony Rodriguez, saxophone; Adam Mitchell, trumpet; Scott Freeby, trumpet; Bryce Schrieber, trumpet; Andrew Kvasnica, trumpet; Paul Hunt, trombone; Julie Hunt, trombone; Jim Reed, trombone and band manager; Chris Hovis, trombone; Trystan Fritts, rhythm; Anthony Kunovic, rhythm; Michael T. Brown, rhythm; and Robert Rodriguez, rhythm.

The program for the evening will include "Star-Spangled Banner," "Rebel Rousers" and "I Could Write a Book" with vocalist Katherine Westhoven; "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" with vocalist Claire Severance; "Lady Is a Tramp," featuring vocalist Teri Holmberg; "But Beautiful" and "Night and Day" with vocalist Emily Thiesen; "Mack the Knife," featuring vocalist Steve Seitz; "Sing, Sing, Sing," "Le Jazz Hot," and "My Funny Valentine" with vocalist Grace Crossman; "Foggy Day in London Town," featuring vocalist Jenny Towns; "Polka Dots and Moonbeams," featuring trombone soloist Hunt; "You Brought New Kind of Love" and "All the Way," featuring vocalist Patricia Thompson; and "It Don't Mean A Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing," featuring all the vocalists.

"McCain Auditorium warmly thanks The Thundering Cats and guest vocalists for donating their time and talent," said Todd Holmberg, McCain executive director.


Todd Holmberg


McCain Auditorium