1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Steel Ring Honor Society inducts 24 new members

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Steel Ring Honor Society inducts 24 new members

Thursday, April 28, 2022



MANHATTAN — The Kansas State University Steel Ring Honor Society has inducted 24 new members for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Steel Ring is an honorary comprised of seniors in the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering. Membership is based on leadership, academic achievement, service and engagement. Steel Ring has been a part of the K-State engineering tradition since 1927.

One of the group's primary tasks each year is planning and organizing the College of Engineering Open House in the spring semester. They also recognize students and faculty at the annual engineering leadership reception along with participating in leadership and service activities around the college.

Faculty advisor for the group is Craig Wanklyn, assistant dean for recruitment in the College of Engineering.

The following are the new members of Steel Ring:

Cody Murphy, senior in computer science, De Soto.

From Greater Kansas City: Julio Gutierrez, senior in electrical engineering, Bryan Hill, senior in computer engineering, and Monica Tlaxcalteca-Romero, all from Kansas City; Sam Cashman, senior in architectural engineering, Lenexa; Maddy Rigdon, senior in industrial engineering, and Liz Zeit, senior in biological systems engineering and environmental engineering, both from Olathe; Braden Funk, senior in computer engineering, Calleigh Scott, senior in biomedical engineering, and Grace Wojcik, senior in mechanical engineering, all from Overland Park; and Connor Flynn, senior in mechanical engineering, and Grace Hartman, senior in civil engineering, both from Shawnee.

Kaitlin Colle, senior in chemical engineering, Hutchinson; Cross Allen, senior in biomedical engineering, Inman; James Higgs, senior in chemical engineering, Manhattan; Dane Thompson, senior in electrical engineering, Scandia; and Katelyn Feist, senior in industrial engineering, and Brett Funk, senior in mechanical engineering, both from Topeka.

From out of state:

From Missouri: Yvette Rito, senior in chemical engineering, Independence; Coen Osborn, senior in chemical engineering, Joplin; Maleah Bogart, senior in architectural engineering, Lee’s Summit; Jackson Yahne, senior in chemical engineering, Liberty; and Mason Erhardt, senior in chemical engineering, St. Charles.

Holden Bryant, senior in mechanical engineering, Bartlesville, Oklahoma.


Craig Wanklyn

News tip

De Soto, Hutchinson, Inman, Kansas City, Lenexa, Manhattan, Olathe, Overland Park, Scandia, Shawnee and Topeka, Kansas; Independence, Joplin, Lee’s Summit, Liberty and St. Charles, Missouri; and Bartlesville, Oklahoma.


Steel Ring Honor Society

Written by

Grant Guggisberg