1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Three high school seniors earn K-State's Presidential Scholarship

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Three high school seniors earn K-State's Presidential Scholarship

Wednesday, March 2, 2022



MANHATTAN — Kansas State University has awarded its Presidential Scholarship, the largest scholarship award in the state, to three high school seniors.

Winners of the $20,000-per-year Presidential Scholarship, worth $80,000 over four years, are Ibrahim Ciftci, Manhattan, a senior at Manhattan High School; Margaret Benson, Wamego, a senior at Wamego High School and the recipient of the Vanier Family Business Administration Best of Kansas Presidential Scholarship for students who plan to choose a major offered by the College of Business Administration; and Madison Von Minden, Chesterfield, Missouri, a senior at Marquette High School.

The scholarship competition was conducted in early February on the K-State campus in Manhattan. The university received 152 applications and a selection committee chose eight student finalists to interview for a general Presidential Scholarship and five students to interview for the Presidential Scholarship for the College of Business Administration.

As the largest and most selective scholarship award made by K-State, the Presidential Scholarship seeks to recognize students who have been truly outstanding, both academically and as student leaders, during their high school careers.

The following high school seniors were finalists for the Presidential Scholarship:

Braden Adams, Abilene, a senior at Abilene High School; Lane Musselman, Clifton, senior at Clay Center Community High School.

From Greater Kansas City: Jayden Brethour, Lenexa, a senior who is homeschooled; and Johanna Heinen, a senior at Spring Hill High School, and Jax Marn, a senior St. Thomas Aquinas High School, both from Olathe.

Amala John, Hesston, a senior at Hesston High School; Jude Stafford, Independence, a senior at Independence High School; and Gavin Strunk, a senior at Rock Creek High School, Wamego.

From out of state: Allison Jansen, Florissant, Missouri, a senior at Rosati-Kain High School.

The 2022-2023 Presidential Scholarships are made possible by support from alumni and friends. The awards include the Mike and Becky Goss Presidential Scholarship, funded by Mike and Becky Goss, Westport, Connecticut; the Mary L. Vanier Presidential Scholarship, funded by Mary L. Vanier, Manhattan; and the Vanier Family Business Administration Best of Kansas Presidential Scholarship, funded by members of the Jack Vanier family of Brookville, Manhattan and Salina.


Presidential Scholarship

News tip

Abilene, Clifton, Hesston, Independence, Lenexa,Manhattan, Olathe and Wamego, Kansas; Chesterfield, and Florissant, Missouri.